Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is almost identical to a recipe that I love. The only difference is that in my recipe you add 1/3 of a cup of chicken broth with the lemon juice to the pan drippings. This helps to add the needed liquid for the sauce. This is a fast, delicious recipe that the whole family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
My wife loved this take on a delicious dish. Mince onion, garlic and jalepeno, add the dry ingredients called for in this dish to form a wet paste. Rub generous amounts under the skin. Outer skin is salted, rubbed with some mixture. Broil in oven until skin gets nice and crispy (5-7 min) switch oven to bake 350 until done (approx 40 min). About half way through squeeze lime juice on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
694 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I will make this easy recipe again but with some changes. I loved the spice mixture but it wasn't enough to adequately cover/rub four breasts so I had make another batch. Also, way, way, WAY too much garlic powder at the end. It overpowered the other flavors, especially the lime. I will reduce the amount of garlic powder and double the other ingredients in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
639 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Love the spicy little kick this chicken has to offer. I did have to double the butter and lime juice in order to have enough sauce to spoon over the top. I also pounded the brests thinner to avoid that "too chickeny" taste. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This recipe is five stars as written, but to spice it up, I doubled the spice mixture, increased the cayenne pepper to 1/2 tsp. Right before finishing the "sauce" I added 1/2 cup of chicken broth per another reviewers suggetion, a "turn" of margarita mix, a splash of tequila, 1.5 tbs of honey and let bubble for two plus minutes. Perfect mix of sweet and spice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This was good but needed some help. First of all, do cut chicken breasts into pieces & pound thin. Second, don't double the lime juice unless you want it sour. Use 3 TBLSP first (juice of one small lime) and then taste-test the sauce, then adjust as needed. The sauce also could benefit from a little chicken broth added when you put in the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This recipe just replaced my old Lime Chicken recipe. It was wonderful! So simple and easy, too. I fixed the marinade in the morning, bumped up the heat-factor a little, used fresh cilantro from my garden (made all the difference) and threw it in a bag along with the juice of a couple limes. I marinated it all afternoon and then threw it on the grill. While grilling, I coated it with coarse ground pepper and squeezed fresh lime juice on each side. Definitly a keeper! My husband was disappointed he was travelling the next day and couldn't take the leftovers for lunch. Instead, I sliced up the cold chicken and served it on a salad. MMMMMMmmmmmm-good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
A splash of tequila made for a nice finish to this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I'm scratching my head over the glowing reviews. To my palate garlic powder tastes nothing at all like garlic! To me, the flavor is plain nasty. I can't understand why anyone would use a fake-tasting product when the real thing is both inexpensive and readily available. If you want to make this dish worlds better, mash 3-4 garlic cloves to a paste. Apply to the chicken with the spices. For the sauce, mash another clove or two of garlic (or to taste) and replace that awful powder. Infinitely superior, fresh, and tasty. Try it this way - you won't believe the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This was very good. Very easy. I made a couple adjustments; I halved the hot pepper- was still very zippy. I added 3 Tablespoons chicken broth. I covered it at the end, and had to cook it more like 12 min, not 5min, but the breasts I used were very thick. I think I might pound them a bit next time. All in all this recipe rocks. It was so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,621) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States