Spicy Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very bland and proportions seem to be off. As written, the batter is nothing like pancake batter, but more like a thin soup and doesn't stick well. Not much flavor. Also I ended up with a ton of batter, more than enough for 10-15 tomatoes or more. Tip to those looking to make FGT for the first time, the key is in the tomato. It should be the centerpiece of the dish. Many recipes suggest coating the tomato with so much batter that it ends up hiding the flavor of the tomato. If you're going to do that, you might as well use eggplant or zucchini. Choose tomatoes that are just on the verge of turning color, maybe even a tinge of pink beginning to show. If they are too "green", they won't have any flavor to them. Too ripe, and they will turn to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Delicious! I used a cast-iron skillet and it didn't take as long to fry these (def. not 5 minutes). Added cajun seasoning per other reviews and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
OMG! I addes some fresh chopped rosemary to the batter served with zesty Ranch sauce = FGT heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Finally found a fried green tomato batter to make the tomatoes crunchy. This is lacking salt and that is remedied by putting it on my own serving. We also topped it with parmesan cheese. Wouldn't it be amazing served with homemade marinara? YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I fried a 'test' tomato slice for taste and am glad I did because it was a bit bland for our taste so I added a tablespoon of Cajun seasoning and it was much more flavorful. Nice change from the flour/cornmeal breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These were perfect, as far as fried green tomatoes go. So yummy, I barely ate anything else that we had prepared for dinner! And very easy to make. Loved the tartness of the tomatoes. The only thing that wasn't quite right is that we could not taste any spiceyness at all, even though I doubled the red pepper flakes. So we sprinkled some Sriracha sauce on them and were very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is the BEST recipe I have ever made for the fried green tomatoes! I have tried several recipes and this one is amazing!! I made it exactly as it called and took them down to my husband and his fishing buddies and they were a huge hit. Thank you sooooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
My boyfriend has begged me for fried green tomatoes all summer, so I finally broke down today and decided on this recipe. They were great! I used ground cayenne as a substitute and rolled in panko bread crumbs after dredging in the batter. Fabulous, I will make again and again!!!! I only gave the 4 stars because I added salt which I feel is a must with a recipe like this. Love the batter idea instead of flour, egg, bread crumb.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
this was a great recipe! i did modify with a lil corn meal, and added a lil bacon grease to my oil for flavor,and it was absolutely the best fried green tomatoes i have ever made! this is a permanant recipe for me! loved it, sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
As others commented-good, but not spicy. Next time I will add some cayenne pepper to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States