Spicy Flat Iron Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I liked it a lot but gave it 4 as I did change it a little. 1 TB of chili I used as directed but adding another 1 to 1 1/2 tsp each of ancho and chipolte peppers sounded like it was going to be a bit TOO spicy for my "moderately spicy" taste. I used what I had on hand (red pepper flakes and cayenne as "other peppers") and only used a 1/4 tsp...this was plenty spicy for me. I also added 1/4 tsp of cumin....it just seemed a natural pair with chili poweder and isn't too much on the "heat" like the hot peppers. This is probably one you won't make everyone happy as different folks have different likes on how hot they like things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very balanced and delicious it is beefs best friend reminds of the outbacks steaks in a great way I will use this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmysam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Flavor a bit too strong for us. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! I use flank steak as it is my fav and is more tender than flat iron or skirt steak. Followed recipe as stated and grilled over charcoal...also have grilled with charcoal and hickory or mesquite DAY-UM WAS IT GOOD! Served with baked taters with all the fixin's and a garden salad. Add hot buttered corn on cob for a very hungry crowd. (double recipe if cooking for more than 4). Try this rub you won't go wrong. Thanks Miki!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was delicious. I changed it a bit and used less of the chili powder I didn't have and replaced that with creole seasoning (also spicy) and garlic herb steak seasoning mix. The oil drizzled on the meat kept the sugar from burning before meat cooked through. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
threw this on some burgers tonight. amazing. was afraid it would be a little bit hot, then i'd get some of the sugar. delight on the tongue. my grocery stores only had "hot" and "mild" chili powders so i use those an some cayenne pepper as well. coated the burgers and let them sit for a few hours in a ziplock in the fridge. grilled them up. yum. will definitely make this again, and maybe find the right spices too! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottjl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Good rub, if and only if you like the flavor of chili powder. It was a little to chili tasting for me, but the spice level was nice and I liked the sweetness of the brown sugar. Overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Pretty good rub - actually turns into a glaze on the grill, which makes it very good. Be careful though, after it's taken off the grill it will lose a lot of its flavor while "resting." Cook a couple of minutes less than you think it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Yum. I cut back the sugar by 1/2T, left the rest as-is. This was wonderful served with Texas Caviar and a squeeze of fresh lime. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Too sweet. Less sugar would be better. Be carefull when hosting and serving this dish. Everyb0ody does not like sweet meat. I found this had to much sugar. I would reduce the sugar amount and that should do the trick. Thanjks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States