Spicy Flat Iron Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
The title of this recipe is very misleading! This is actually little more than an all-purpose beef rub! I have used it on steaks and ribs, and it is fantastic. And yes, it is good on flat iron steaks as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Fantastic rub! I doubled this and used it on baby back ribs, hubby liked it a lot. Best of all, it was salt-free. I did not use the vegetable oil. Despite the brown sugar, this is not a sweet rub, it has a spicy warmth from the peppers, but it wsn't hot. Love this rub. Thanks! I might try this with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Wow! I was really impressed with this steak rub. We eat steak frequently, and I always try new and different ways to flavor it. This is one I will definately try again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was an excellent steak rub! I used top sirloin and made a few substitutions because I didn't have all the spices on hand. I used cajun seasoning instead of chipolte & ancho pepper and garlic salt instead of salt/pepper. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trabuco Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I honestly have no idea what kind of steak we used with this rub, but I can't see how any other cut would be different, it was delicious! The brown sugar mellows out the spices, so it's not too spicy or sweet. Hubby and I are trying to alter our diet a little so I went for a rub on our lean steaks instead of a marinade with a bunch of oil. I sprayed both sides of the meat with olive oil cooking spray before putting it on the grill and served over a nice big salad. Wonderful flavor, will definitely make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie54933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
We enjoyed this rub so much that I made a batch to keep ready and one to send with my daughter back to college (five athletes in one house). This way she and her roommates can enjoy a great quick dinner after a long practice session.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Produced a juicy steak. We enjoyed this. It just seemed like it was missing something. I will use this rub again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Really good steak rub! I didn't have three kinds of chili powder on hand, so I just added 1 tbps of the plain old chili powder, and then a couple dashes of paprika, rosemary, thyme and cajun each, yum yum! Only had time to marinate for 45 minutes, and it turned out great! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very delicious! Spicy, yet sweet. My husband enjoyed it but thought it was a little too sweet--might want to reduce the sugar and add more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Too sweet. Less sugar would be better. Be carefull when hosting and serving this dish. Everyb0ody does not like sweet meat. I found this had to much sugar. I would reduce the sugar amount and that should do the trick. Thanjks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States