Spicy Flat Iron Steak Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Great rub. Very versatile. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
LOVE this. Also very good on flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
More sweet than spicy in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I am visiting with my son and bought some top round steaks to cook for him.After looking up your recipe I decide to try it. I must say it turned out very well, although I did not have ancho chile powder or chile powder. I used a chipolte spiced barbecued sauce, some steak rub along with the other ingredients and was happy with it. I will try it again when I can get the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've given up making this every time I use it. I now quadruple it and keep it in my pantry so it's ready to go whenever I want it (all the time!) My variations on this are based on my pantry: I use 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper instead of the combination of chipotle and ancho, and I use Lawry's seasoning salt, skipping the "to taste" salt. This rub is amazing! I use it on sirloin steaks all the time, and they are juicy, and perfectly spicy-sweet. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I used this on sirloin strip steaks & they were so juicy and delicious. Didn't have chipotle or ancho chili powder so I used about 1/4 tsp each of cayenne pepper, cumin and red pepper flakes. I cut the sugar down to 1 Tbsp and only used about 1/2 Tbsp of chili powder. We found this was perfect. I think that if you use all the chili powder called for it would be too much. The steaks were so juicy and the juice was delicious. Served with perogies and mushrooms cooked with garlic and peppers. Resturaunt quality meal. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEADTIRED

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiff
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This rub was fantastic! I scored my steak and let the rub penetrate for about an hour before grilling. I had to alter the recipe a bit due to ingredients on hand, I didn't have ancho chili powder (not sure what this is) so I used cayenne pepper and some red pepper flakes and I also used a regular season salt instead of a salt free seasoning. Only complaint I had from the family is I only did this on one of the steaks for a test run. I enjoyed mine but my family was regretful I didnt "rub" theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I can see using this recipe on any beef, grilled, fried, broiled, or whatever you like. I modifed the recipe to include 1/2 of the sugar, due to other reviews, and also did not have all the various chili powders, so I substituted cumin, cayanne pepper, white pepper, and a spicy salf free seasoning blend. It turned out wonderful. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was really good! This was the 1st time ive ever used a dry rub. I let it sit overnight and it was great. I plan on using this rub often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I'm a vegetarian and my boyfriend eats meat. I used this rub on his steak and my soy "chicken" and we both loved it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States