Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Mine came out really soupy but the taste was delicious. I did season the fish with old bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I liked the idea of this recipe, but tailored it to my family's tastes. Added peas to the carrots and onion and used cream of mushroom soup mixed with a little fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream. Added small sized shrimp to the sauce and used paprika instead of chili powder. Poured over fish, topped with brown rice and sprinkled small amount of monterey jack cheese on top. Baked according to the recipe. Very tasty, going into the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was delicious! We've had to give up Shepherd's Pie due to some allergy issues with the common ingredients, so this was a wonderful surprise. A word of warning though, don't over cook the potates, or it will turn into a soup/stew, and it may not need the full 40 min baking time. My oven usually cooks a little slower, so I just set the timer for 40 min and walked away, and didn't check it. That was totally my fault, but when I came back, the chese had browned, melted and sunk. Still amazingly tasty as a stew though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made this tonight and it was great. I made some changes but used the basic recipe and this recipe is simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was really delicious. I had to substitute with cream of chicken soup and tilapia but it worked! Also added chopped celery and dried sage instead of parsley to make it taste a bit more like chowder. Definitely adding this to my favorites, especially during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is my second time making it. Although I like the original recipe I like it better this time. I did use grouper instead of cod this time. That, I didn't like but other than that, I added peas and celery to the veggies and instead of adding the parsley and chili powder to the cream, I added Old Bay seasoning and a dash of nutmeg. I also browned some panko crumbs in butter and mixed in the cheese with the panko mixture and topped the potatoes. Overall I did prefer the way I made it this time around. Thanks Stripeland for the recipe. I never would have though to do this with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
So came home late with fresh cod fish, wanted something fast but different. So when I came across this recipe, I went for it. But strapped for time, so I used instant mashed potatoes, my mistake = my bad! I know better with shepard's pie, to use the real deal when it comes to mashed potatoes. It came out a little bit on the watery side, but the TASTE was AWESOME!!! It was hearty, filling, but light. The flavors were great. So good we made it again ( actually as I am typing this, we are enjoying the meal, it is that good!) with a chunkier mashed potatoes base, chopped celery, green onions, peas and goat cheese. Again it turned out really yummy. I love this recipe for the ease, flavor and the hubster keeps asking for it. Thank you for the share Stripeland & the Hubster says"Good stuff" as he helps himself to seconds....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysis
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We'd give it a 4.5. We upped the spices and it still could use a kick. Great recipe! Easy and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly; the only thing I would change would be to double the amount of fish. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Husband loved this. Very tasty and filling. I used snapper and prawns....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States