Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Great recipe just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I love the base of this recipe. I supplemented the potatoes with cauliflower to make the mash and agree with the rest of the reviewers that it can use more salt and chili powder. I can see a range of substitutions that could be used to make a similar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Really great, but we did cut back on the potatos and the cheese by about half, using full amounts of butter and milk when mashing (can't imagine it as written -it'd be nothing but cheese and really dry mashed potatos!). Instead of all the cheese on top, mixed about half in with the veggies/sauce. Had a small amount of frozen green beans to use up, so added those to the sauce as well along with a clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe is fantastic! Everything came out perfect. I halved the recipe since I was the only one eating and it was lovely. I didn't have any milk so I used the heavy whipping cream in the potatoes. Additionally, I added some seasoning on the fish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Mine came out really soupy but the taste was delicious. I did season the fish with old bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I liked the idea of this recipe, but tailored it to my family's tastes. Added peas to the carrots and onion and used cream of mushroom soup mixed with a little fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream. Added small sized shrimp to the sauce and used paprika instead of chili powder. Poured over fish, topped with brown rice and sprinkled small amount of monterey jack cheese on top. Baked according to the recipe. Very tasty, going into the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was delicious! We've had to give up Shepherd's Pie due to some allergy issues with the common ingredients, so this was a wonderful surprise. A word of warning though, don't over cook the potates, or it will turn into a soup/stew, and it may not need the full 40 min baking time. My oven usually cooks a little slower, so I just set the timer for 40 min and walked away, and didn't check it. That was totally my fault, but when I came back, the chese had browned, melted and sunk. Still amazingly tasty as a stew though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made this tonight and it was great. I made some changes but used the basic recipe and this recipe is simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was really delicious. I had to substitute with cream of chicken soup and tilapia but it worked! Also added chopped celery and dried sage instead of parsley to make it taste a bit more like chowder. Definitely adding this to my favorites, especially during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is my second time making it. Although I like the original recipe I like it better this time. I did use grouper instead of cod this time. That, I didn't like but other than that, I added peas and celery to the veggies and instead of adding the parsley and chili powder to the cream, I added Old Bay seasoning and a dash of nutmeg. I also browned some panko crumbs in butter and mixed in the cheese with the panko mixture and topped the potatoes. Overall I did prefer the way I made it this time around. Thanks Stripeland for the recipe. I never would have though to do this with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States