Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe was ok, but the sauce and fish cooked far too long. Next time I will add the sauce the last few minutes of cooking so it doesn't curdle. There is way too much cheese, and it should be added the last few minutes, too. Overall, it tasted good, but it definitely needs some changes to make it a five star recipe. I used a salmon filet because that's what I had on hand. Didn't bother cutting it up. The fish itself turned out a little dry from the long cooking time. Fish doesn't need a long time too cook. About 20 minutes per inch of fish otherwise it becomes dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I did this exactly as the recipe called for and my family thought it was good. They didn't rave but they ate it all and didn't complain. Also easy prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Super yummy! Everyone ate it up. I added spinach, peas and 2 cloves of garlic, and also subbed a very small amount of grated parmesan for the cheddar, and red pepper flakes & paprika for the chili powder. I made the potatoes very dry so mine was not soupy in the least. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I changed quite a bit. I used Orange Roughy and Catfish. I also added a cup of mixed veggies to the onion and carrot cooked in oil. I also sprinkled the veggies and the fish with Slap Ya Mama seasoning. The meal was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Years ago in England I had a seafood pie that I still can't get off my mind. This recipe looked similar to what I remember. I did make some changes--instead of hot chili pepper I used Old Bay Seasoning. For fish we used Cod and Shrimp. Next time we'll make more adjustments since it a bit runny. Might add a bit of corn starch to thicken. Also would heat thoroughly before spreading potatoes on top since they sort of melted into the rest. Will add potatoes and later turn heat to broil. Hubby wants to add scallops next time too. A good Dubliner cheese on top might be nice to try also. Overall, flavor matched my memory. Great after a day of skiing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My husband and I did not like this at all. The texture was all wrong and the flavors did not meld. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I LOVED this recipe. Next time will make more so that I can freeze it for easy cooking. I used jack cheese on top and it came out SO GOOD!! I will try Gruyere next time and might add some thyme for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Great. I added more fish and fewer potatoes. Also, used FF half and half and you couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
this recipe is fantastic. Unstoppable. The color of the carrot, onions, and parsley mixed with the cream is beautiful. You will want to eat the sauce. I used tilapia with mine, and I added a lot more chili powder and salt. My taste.. It bakes up wonderfully with the cheese and mashed potatoes. Congradulations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONNYBABY
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Made this last night and it was delicious. My 5-yr-old son found it too spicy though and ended up eating toast for dinner. I used 3 smoked cod fillets, plus I added about 250g of chopped spinach, which really did help. I left out the parsley as I didn't think it needed it. It was still fairly runny after baking for 45 minutes, but not sloppy. In response to one of the other reviewers whose husband didn't like mash on top... I only semi-mashed the potatoes so it wasn't 'sloppy' and it was a good texture that resulted. I think you could add a lot of great things to this recipe and really adapt it to suit your own tastes. My husband suggested kumara...!? Thanks for this beauty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNYBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentley, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States