Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I changed quite a bit. I used Orange Roughy and Catfish. I also added a cup of mixed veggies to the onion and carrot cooked in oil. I also sprinkled the veggies and the fish with Slap Ya Mama seasoning. The meal was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Years ago in England I had a seafood pie that I still can't get off my mind. This recipe looked similar to what I remember. I did make some changes--instead of hot chili pepper I used Old Bay Seasoning. For fish we used Cod and Shrimp. Next time we'll make more adjustments since it a bit runny. Might add a bit of corn starch to thicken. Also would heat thoroughly before spreading potatoes on top since they sort of melted into the rest. Will add potatoes and later turn heat to broil. Hubby wants to add scallops next time too. A good Dubliner cheese on top might be nice to try also. Overall, flavor matched my memory. Great after a day of skiing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My husband and I did not like this at all. The texture was all wrong and the flavors did not meld. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I LOVED this recipe. Next time will make more so that I can freeze it for easy cooking. I used jack cheese on top and it came out SO GOOD!! I will try Gruyere next time and might add some thyme for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Great. I added more fish and fewer potatoes. Also, used FF half and half and you couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
this recipe is fantastic. Unstoppable. The color of the carrot, onions, and parsley mixed with the cream is beautiful. You will want to eat the sauce. I used tilapia with mine, and I added a lot more chili powder and salt. My taste.. It bakes up wonderfully with the cheese and mashed potatoes. Congradulations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BONNYBABY
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Made this last night and it was delicious. My 5-yr-old son found it too spicy though and ended up eating toast for dinner. I used 3 smoked cod fillets, plus I added about 250g of chopped spinach, which really did help. I left out the parsley as I didn't think it needed it. It was still fairly runny after baking for 45 minutes, but not sloppy. In response to one of the other reviewers whose husband didn't like mash on top... I only semi-mashed the potatoes so it wasn't 'sloppy' and it was a good texture that resulted. I think you could add a lot of great things to this recipe and really adapt it to suit your own tastes. My husband suggested kumara...!? Thanks for this beauty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNYBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentley, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This recipe is awesome! I'm not much of a fish fan; I used cod and talapia. I also used cayenne pepper (1/4 to 1/2 t) which really spiced it up! I found out at the last minute that I didn't have any cream, so I mixed in a can of cream of celery soup after browning the onions, and it was just awesome! We will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Incredible, fantastic, excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
The original version was bland. We sprinkled the top with some lemon juice and salted and peppered it. The texture was great...next time I will add a little more flavor and twice the chili pwdr. I used tilapia and added extra carrots. The fish flavor wasn't overpowering and that was nice for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States