Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Easy, tasty, and not too fishy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was okay. I used tilapia since it was what i had in my freezer, and added some cayenne for a little more kick. The dish just wasnt that flavorful to me though. Needed something more, but I am not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
loved it, even my son who wont eat vegetables or fish, finished off his plate. Next time I shall add some broccoli and more fish. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Excellent, particularly with some changes. I thought the fish/potato ratio sounded skewed, so I used two pounds of fish (Nile Perch) and two and a half of potato and it was perfect. I also sauteed two cloves of garlic with the onion, and used three carrots rather than one. Lastly, I put the cheese (only three ounces) on top of the cream mixture and under the potatoes, rather than on top of them where it would dry out. I sprinkled paprika on top of the potatoes. This was a big hit with my family, even the ones who don't like fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers that this wasn't spicy at all. But overall it was pretty good for a fish dish. I had recently accidentally bought some Whiting fillets thinking they were Tilapia fillets because they were in the same type packaging and I was in a hurry and didn't look at the package closely. ANYWAY, I used those and the fish flavor was pretty strong but my family still ate it and thought it was pretty good. I also substituted a cup of chopped fresh spinach for the parsley since I didn't have any parsley on hand. If I make this again I will make sure I have the Tilapia on hand as we prefer it's milder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I used this recipe as a guideline to create a similar dish, but using what I had already in the fridge. I needed to use up some cauliflower, celery and dill; I threw in a little onion and frozen spinach. Used a can of cream of mushroom soup, and some seasonings. Thawed some flounder filets. I also used instant potatoes. I liked this recipe because it was a great combination of ingredinets and the method of preparation worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
My family and I thought this was a great dish. I did add some pea's in with the carrot and didnt mash my pots up very much and they absorbed the cream from the and did not make it too soupy at all. I used some taco sauce on the top as I didnt think it was spicy at all. Very tasty though. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe was more than just a keeper. My wife and I were oohing and aahing with the first few bites. It's truly outstanding. I stayed with the recipe but added a little more of some things. First and foremost, I used a whole pound of cod. I used a large onion rather than a medium. I used two carrots rather than one. I poured in the cup of cream and then added enough more until it "looked right." It smelled wonderful in the oven and tasted even better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I used 2 pounds of pollock and that seemed to be about the right amount. Any less and you won't even find the fish. During the saute I also added a package of thawed chopped spinach, which made a big difference. Not sure why this is called spicy, even after doubling the chili powder I barely tasted it. Maybe the original recipe called for cayenne instead. In any case, the end product was delicious, and smelled great while it was cooking. I recommend it, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This recipe was ok, but the sauce and fish cooked far too long. Next time I will add the sauce the last few minutes of cooking so it doesn't curdle. There is way too much cheese, and it should be added the last few minutes, too. Overall, it tasted good, but it definitely needs some changes to make it a five star recipe. I used a salmon filet because that's what I had on hand. Didn't bother cutting it up. The fish itself turned out a little dry from the long cooking time. Fish doesn't need a long time too cook. About 20 minutes per inch of fish otherwise it becomes dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States