Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I was intimidated by how many carbs and calories were in this dish but it sounded sooo good, so I lightened it up. I subbed 1lb of potatoes with 1/2lb frozen cauliflower, boiled them and mashed them together using my hand blender. I didn't add the milk to the mashed potatoes since using cauliflower added moisture. I also seasoned the mash with a liberal dash of seasoning salt and the result was awesome! I didn't have any cream on hand but since I have a one year old I always have homo milk so I used a big cup of milk and kept the fry pan on the stove on low for 10-15 extra minutes to reduce the sauce. I also used about 1/2 as much cheese. On the more decadent side of things, I thought that if you subbed out some of the cream and added cream cheese to the sauce it might play well with the rest of the flavours. I will definitely make this again UPDATE: It's April 14th and it snowed today (sarcastic YIPPEE!) so I was in the mood for something warm and comforting for dinner. I subbed the cream with fat free sour cream and added a handful of frozen peas and frozen corn to the cream mixture. It gave this dish that bit of kick in flavour it needed. I also squeezed half a lemon over the fish before I added the cream mixture which also helped add to the flavour. I did have to step out while this was baking and since I was concerned dinner would burn, I decreased the heat to 350 and covered it with foil which was a huge mistake. I ended up with Spicy Fisherman's Soup, but it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a tasty, hearty dish! I halved the recipe, because there are only three of us at the table, but it turned out well. The gravy/stock ends up being very flavorful. Of course I added a bit of my own seasonings to taste, didn't have olive oil, just used regular canola. I think I used a big tilapia filet as well. Turned out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Easy, tasty, and not too fishy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was okay. I used tilapia since it was what i had in my freezer, and added some cayenne for a little more kick. The dish just wasnt that flavorful to me though. Needed something more, but I am not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
loved it, even my son who wont eat vegetables or fish, finished off his plate. Next time I shall add some broccoli and more fish. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Excellent, particularly with some changes. I thought the fish/potato ratio sounded skewed, so I used two pounds of fish (Nile Perch) and two and a half of potato and it was perfect. I also sauteed two cloves of garlic with the onion, and used three carrots rather than one. Lastly, I put the cheese (only three ounces) on top of the cream mixture and under the potatoes, rather than on top of them where it would dry out. I sprinkled paprika on top of the potatoes. This was a big hit with my family, even the ones who don't like fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I agree with the other reviewers that this wasn't spicy at all. But overall it was pretty good for a fish dish. I had recently accidentally bought some Whiting fillets thinking they were Tilapia fillets because they were in the same type packaging and I was in a hurry and didn't look at the package closely. ANYWAY, I used those and the fish flavor was pretty strong but my family still ate it and thought it was pretty good. I also substituted a cup of chopped fresh spinach for the parsley since I didn't have any parsley on hand. If I make this again I will make sure I have the Tilapia on hand as we prefer it's milder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I used this recipe as a guideline to create a similar dish, but using what I had already in the fridge. I needed to use up some cauliflower, celery and dill; I threw in a little onion and frozen spinach. Used a can of cream of mushroom soup, and some seasonings. Thawed some flounder filets. I also used instant potatoes. I liked this recipe because it was a great combination of ingredinets and the method of preparation worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
My family and I thought this was a great dish. I did add some pea's in with the carrot and didnt mash my pots up very much and they absorbed the cream from the and did not make it too soupy at all. I used some taco sauce on the top as I didnt think it was spicy at all. Very tasty though. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe was more than just a keeper. My wife and I were oohing and aahing with the first few bites. It's truly outstanding. I stayed with the recipe but added a little more of some things. First and foremost, I used a whole pound of cod. I used a large onion rather than a medium. I used two carrots rather than one. I poured in the cup of cream and then added enough more until it "looked right." It smelled wonderful in the oven and tasted even better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States