Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Coming from a non-fish lover, I thought is was a decent meal. A tad on the bland side (not sure where the spicy part came in). I felt like the sauce should have been thicker (maybe next time make a roux and thicken it?) and more flavor added to the entire thing. However, it was a good hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
We enjoyed this recipie. We tend to like our food a little on the spicer side, so I will add more chili powder next time. It would be a great fish dish for those who are not so found of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Not a big hit with the family, it was mushy and no spice. I wish I would have strayed from the recipe and done differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Forestville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was fairly bland. The fish gets lost in all the potatoes. If I made it again, I'd halve the potatoes and put the cheese on before the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I am not a fish fan but I enjoyed this. I have to get some fish into the diet and I found this was warm & tasty. It was almost more soupy than a pie, so we scooped and served in bowls with rolls. I added some garlic powder and salt, and used basa filets. we like spicy so we topped with a little tabasco. thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was very good! I only made a couple of adjustments. Taking a tip from another reviewer, I added broccoli. I used White Ruffy fish (very mild) and instead of adding milk to the potatoes, I added about 1/4 cup of the heavy cream. I have to agree with others that it did not have much flavor. I ended up adding some kosher salt and seasoning salt. Would defintely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Waterford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I was intimidated by how many carbs and calories were in this dish but it sounded sooo good, so I lightened it up. I subbed 1lb of potatoes with 1/2lb frozen cauliflower, boiled them and mashed them together using my hand blender. I didn't add the milk to the mashed potatoes since using cauliflower added moisture. I also seasoned the mash with a liberal dash of seasoning salt and the result was awesome! I didn't have any cream on hand but since I have a one year old I always have homo milk so I used a big cup of milk and kept the fry pan on the stove on low for 10-15 extra minutes to reduce the sauce. I also used about 1/2 as much cheese. On the more decadent side of things, I thought that if you subbed out some of the cream and added cream cheese to the sauce it might play well with the rest of the flavours. I will definitely make this again UPDATE: It's April 14th and it snowed today (sarcastic YIPPEE!) so I was in the mood for something warm and comforting for dinner. I subbed the cream with fat free sour cream and added a handful of frozen peas and frozen corn to the cream mixture. It gave this dish that bit of kick in flavour it needed. I also squeezed half a lemon over the fish before I added the cream mixture which also helped add to the flavour. I did have to step out while this was baking and since I was concerned dinner would burn, I decreased the heat to 350 and covered it with foil which was a huge mistake. I ended up with Spicy Fisherman's Soup, but it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a tasty, hearty dish! I halved the recipe, because there are only three of us at the table, but it turned out well. The gravy/stock ends up being very flavorful. Of course I added a bit of my own seasonings to taste, didn't have olive oil, just used regular canola. I think I used a big tilapia filet as well. Turned out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Easy, tasty, and not too fishy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was okay. I used tilapia since it was what i had in my freezer, and added some cayenne for a little more kick. The dish just wasnt that flavorful to me though. Needed something more, but I am not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, South Dakota, USA
Living In: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States