Spicy Fisherman's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
So came home late with fresh cod fish, wanted something fast but different. So when I came across this recipe, I went for it. But strapped for time, so I used instant mashed potatoes, my mistake = my bad! I know better with shepard's pie, to use the real deal when it comes to mashed potatoes. It came out a little bit on the watery side, but the TASTE was AWESOME!!! It was hearty, filling, but light. The flavors were great. So good we made it again ( actually as I am typing this, we are enjoying the meal, it is that good!) with a chunkier mashed potatoes base, chopped celery, green onions, peas and goat cheese. Again it turned out really yummy. I love this recipe for the ease, flavor and the hubster keeps asking for it. Thank you for the share Stripeland & the Hubster says"Good stuff" as he helps himself to seconds....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysis
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We'd give it a 4.5. We upped the spices and it still could use a kick. Great recipe! Easy and delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly; the only thing I would change would be to double the amount of fish. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Husband loved this. Very tasty and filling. I used snapper and prawns....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Yum!! This was delicious! I can't give it 5 stars though b/c without adjusting the seasonings it would be pretty bland. I seasoned the fish w/ salt and pepper and increased the chili pwdr to 1/2 t and it still needed additional salt and pepper after it came out of the oven. I also added about 3/4 c of frozen peas and doubled the carrots. Took others' advice on the potatoes (used 2 lbs) and only 4 oz of cheese. This will definitely be going into our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
this is very good. granddaugher said 5 stars, hubby said it was good, but too many potatoes. i liked it because it was different and was a good way to get fish in our diets. i did listen to other reviewers and used more spice (old bay). will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was an easy and delicious recipe. My 13 year old son and his friend made it, because I was sick, and it came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My 5 kids said to give this one "ten stars". I can not remember the last time a meal got such RAVE reviews. There were no leftovers! Followed the recipe exactly, it is perfect just the way it is! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The leftovers were the best part where the somewhat wet top got all dense and potatoey (is that a real word?). I did sprinkle the fish (Tilapia) with seafood seasoning, mixed some cheese into the sauce, used paprika instead of chili (feeding wee ones), and added garlic pepper to the potatoes. Without the spice additions, I could see how it would be veeeery bland. So my suggestion, season every layer to taste and you have a wonderful dish that makes GREAT leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Nelson-Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States