Spicy Fish Tacos with Fresh Lime Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
We did not care for this recipe. Something was definitely off-putting in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Wow I was so looking forward to a really great recipe based on reviews, but my husband and I were very disappointed. This was easy, that's how it earned 1 point. I wish I had used cabbage instead of lettuce as some reviewers suggested, using lettuce does not work well. Also it is very bland, it needs more spice. We tried to spice it up with Salsa Verde, but even that didn't help much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I loved the recipe. Only four stars because of pre fab tortillas. My only negative is why does everyone use those pre-fab tortillas? want to punch this up? Fry your own corn tortillas or use soft warm flour tortillas.Just be sure to have tortillas ready to fill before you fry fish or if baking fry while fish is in the oven. Those pre- fabs are disgusting! I Know the tortillas take time to do yourself and it is a bit tricky but with a little practice you can do it. The fresher the tortilla the easier to handle. So if you don`t have a tortilla deli near you , when selecting corn tortillas try for the package that the tortilla will "flop" when held upright. Older ones are stiff. So worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Coleslaw mix is chopped cabbage & carrots you can buy, it's in the fruit/veggie aisle around the bagged salad mixes. Hope that helps and good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Cut up my own purple cabbage, because I all ready had some. Used Mahi Mahi , and grilled it. Cut back on the taco seasoning by half. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Allrecipes.com sent me this recipe, so I decided to try it for the family. It is delicious. I did not have any yogurt, so I substituted a mix of two big tablespoons of sour cream and one smaller one of mayo. Other than that I stuck to the recipe as written. The tacos tasted remarkably like the award winning Tacos at Flip Flops Restaurant which was featured on Diners Drive-Ins and Dives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandman5756

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I really enjoyed this. I do think it took me more than 15 mins prep time though. I agree with the earlier poster who suggested cooking the fish last. I also suggest filling the taco as it's being eaten, not in advance (put one together, eat, then put the next together) to avoid having them get mushy. We also liked it better putting the coleslaw mix in first, then the fish and tomatoes- it was more flavorful that way. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I didn't have yogurt or sour cream so I used mayo, thin sliced cabbage and let it set for some time, longer the better. The taco seasoning I used didn't have salt so I added Clasico seasoning which has salt and lime, and baked fish. soft tortillas and cheese...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Sippel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I fixed this tonight and thought it was great for a summer evening dinner. I don't like jalapenos, so added a little tiny bit of the taco seasoning to the cole slaw; that was a bad idea, so I tried to fix with a spoonful of mayo. Seemed to help. Set it all out with chopped fresh tomatoes. Will do this again and make the dressing more like the posted recipe. Well, I might tinker a bit, hard to stop myself playing around with a good base recipe. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
@ Lovestocook - Coleslaw mix is a cabbage/carrot mix in the prepared lettuces section of your grocery store. Already shredded ready to add to your tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States