Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
This has become the recipe that my family requests the most!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This is wonderful. I omitted the diced chili peppers and used diced jalapenos (we like everything really "kicked up"). And I used canned diced tomatoes with chili's instead of plain tomatoes. I also added some Emeril's Southwest Essence, and lots of Cajum Seasoning. This is surely a keeper around here!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! If you are on a healthy heart regimine, you have got to try this soup. I added another can of chicken broth along with grated carrots and barley. Don't be afraid to experiment with this. I will be making this often (and in larger quantities)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I happened to have every single ingredient in the house except for the yogurt, but I made it anyway. Oh my goodness, this soup was WONDERFUL! I can guarantee I will be making this soup often. It reminds me of my grandmother, who was from interior Mexico. My cooking this dish would have made her proud! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Simply awesome! The flavor is full and it doesn't taste "healthy." The yogurt gives it a nice richness both in taste and in color. I did make a couple alterations. I'm not fond of cod, so I substituted salmon. I also poured it over a handful of cooked rice. It is on the keeper list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Very tasty recipe. I made no modifications and loved it. Even a not so great piece of fish didn't wreck this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful wonderful recipe. I changed it a bit by adding a tea spoon of cajun seasoning and I used fresh fish (cooked it much longer than recomended with the bones, then took the bones out and returned chunks of meat back into the soup). Also, I used greek style yogurt. It is absolutelly deliscious and such a rich taste. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belgrade, Central Serbia, Serbia
Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
What a great recipe! It's so simple and delicous--it only takes a few minutes to prepare and makes a filling and tasty soup. I like spicy foods and i found the original recipe was a little tame, but subbing fresh and canned jalepenos was too much! so the next time i make it i will add canned jalepenos and fresh green peppers--also this soup is awesome heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is a great soup. I used 1 lb of shrimp and skipped the fish. I did not have any chili powder so i used 1/2 tablespoon of old bay, and 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper still tasted great will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
This is spicy, true, but not hot, so I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles. I also added a little lime juice and chopped cilantro at the end. In all, though, this was only OK. It isn't a 'keeper' for me. I have other fish soups to try....Thank you, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States