Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was just okay. Not that it didn't have a lot of flavor, and certainly spicy enough, my family just wasn't very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great Recipe! Reminds me of a cross between gumbo and chicken tortilla soup. I didn't find it too spicy, but if you don't like spicy, don't cook "Spicy Fish Soup". I used a can of Rotel instead of tomatoes and chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
The perfect recipe. Easy, inexpensive and full of flavor!! We had some leftover fish from a family dinner and this was the perfect use for it. I didn't add the yogurt and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Looking for healthy foods for my husband, and this looked like a winner. I thought it was pretty tasty, but unfortunately, he didn't care for it. 3 stars is the average of both of our ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband really liked this recipe...my daughter went to bed hungry, but it really isn't a kid recipe. I thought it was good, but need something more. I added extra chiles and garlic, as well as substituting 1/2 the chicken broth for white wine. I served this over whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
OK I am no expert so maybe the fact that the green chilis I used were pickled made a huge difference but this was waaaay toooo hot to eat. I added a full carton of yogurt and some white sugar and my mouth is still flaming. Before the insane heat hit me, I did like the flavor, but after four bites my eyes were watering and my boyfriend was begging for mercy. I will be avoiding spicy food for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Sorry but I did not care for this. It was just OK and will not be making this any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Yummy and perfectly light for a warm evening. Had to add some chopped jalapenos as the only chillis I can get have no bite. I strained the fish out of the leftovers and cooked penne in the soup. Stirred the fish back in, put it in a tuppaware and my husband was thrilled with his lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
My husband and I LOVE this soup. It's great as-is but you can also play around by adding bell pepper, jalepenos, etc. It's also good with shredded chicken rather than fish. I think it's a great recipe - easy, quick and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This soup was very good ... the first day. I ate the leftovers 3 days later and it was terrible ... tasted like it came straight from a can (which some of the ingredents did). I used organic chicken broth from a carton and red bell pepper instead of green. You can't really taste the yogurt so don't leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States