Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I modified the recipe slightly. I added two small red potatoes (diced) and a can of corn. I also added the green bell pepper before the first boil since I like the flavor of pepper in my soups. My husband had 3 bowls and my neighbor came over to claim the remains! Shouldn't have post it on Facebook if I didn't want to share ;) Everyone loved it! A keeper. Another hint is that I squeezed lemon in my soup and chopped cilantro on top to garnish and for taste, to truly make it a Mexican dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Easy, great tasting recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and used Rotel with green chiles and eliminated the yougurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
A good base soup. Even my picky 4yo who said 'he likes the red soup' and my picky hubby enjoyed it as well. I used rotisserie chicken instead of the seafood and added half a cup of pineapple yogurt since that was all I had. It gave the stew a nice, sweet, fruity flavor. Will keep in my recipe box...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
My husband and I do not like bell peppers, so we left that out. I didn't have any shrimp so I used extra cod. In the end I forgot to add the yogurt. Despite the three missing ingredients this soup was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I fixed this for supper and we really enjoyed it. I did not have yogurt so used a bit of sour cream. Don't know how different that change made the recipe but we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I had this in New Orleans over St.Patricks weekend and had to try it at home. I love soups and this is now a favorite. I used bass fillets because that is what I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
INCREDIBLE !!!! I am a vegetarian, so I didn't taste it. My husband said it was FANTASTIC, and he usually doesn't rave about food. I omitted the shrimp and yogurt, as he doesn't eat shell fish or dairy. I doubled the cod & used canned, diced tomatoes that have peppers in it...in addition to what the recipe called for. He actually woke up the next morning and said that he had a dream about this soup...LOL. It was so easy to make. I will never let him see the recipe because he thinks that it was difficult to make and took all day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made this last night for my family and needless to say, it went quick. It was such a hit that I made more and took it to my Mom and brother. Everyone agreed that it was the best fish soup they ever had. Changes: I didn't add tomatoes since I was out of them, added a tbsp of hot jalapeno green salsa for a nice kick, then at the final stage I added a tbsp of fresh chopped parsley, and 2 tbsp of heavy whipping cream. Since using chicken bouillon can sometimes make a dish saltier, I added 2-1/4 cups of water with 2 chicken cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I tried all cod. Pretty good, worth tinkering with, probably better with shrimp.Mine curdled when I added the yogurt, which spoiled the looks, although it tasted good. (May be my fault. I had added some lemon juice before remembering to put the yogurt in.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I wasn't overly impressed by this dish, but it did have some good flavors. It definitely could use a pinch of salt and something acidic as well (maybe lime juice or a splash of vinegar). I used a jalapeno with some the seeds in place of the canned chiles for a more fresh spicy flavor. Overall, this is a good base dish to tweak to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States