Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Awesome last-minute choice for dinner, even with my substitutions. I had no green chillis in a can so I substituted some leftover green salsa and thawed spinach. I was out of chili powder so used The Firecracker Chili Powder recipe here on AllRecipes. I'm in Germany -- frozen Seelachsfilet (Pollock in English?) is readily available and what I used here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a regular in our house, we make at least once every two weeks. We don't include the yogurt since my husband is anti-yogurt. You can really play around with different fish & seafood - whatever is on special. I like adding the chopped green peppers at the very end, so that they don't get overcooked and have a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong with this one, but I was dissappointed. Will not make again. Spicy, but somehow bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I love this soup! It seemed like a lot of chili powder, but I stuck to the recipe as is since no one else commented on it, and it was very, very good. Just enough heat without being too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Excellent - spicy, full of flavor. I loved it. Followed recipe except doubled the cod. Definitely a keeper. It's great for dieters, especially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Looking at the wide variety of ingredients on this recipe, I was skeptical. But, given the excellent ratings, we gave it a shot. It was FABULOUS!! We love spicy, and it was nice a zingy and super flavorful. And low cal! We will for sure make this again. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
i added a sliced sweet potato and threw in some chili flakes. spicy yumness! great for warming up winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Outstanding! I doubled the fish & omitted the shrimp. I substituted Rotel for green chili & tomatoe & it was just right but too spicy for one of my boys. I also added cubed potatoes at step #2 to make it a bit more hearty. A definite keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is an easy and very flavorful fish soup recipe. The sauted onions, garlic, and chili powder make a nice base for this soup. I didn't alter the recipe and will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
We really liked this soup! I judge everything I make by the picky boyfriend and he loved it. (He isn't even a soup-lover!) I added some jalepenos and some cilantro to up the flavor but that is pretty much the only change I made. I like that it was SO easy and the fact that I could change up the meat from seafood to chicken easily depending on my mood makes it even better. For being so healthy it is so tasty! Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States