Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
For me, this is only a 3 but my family really liked it. Replaced the cod with tilapia loins (cheaper and tastier) and the shrimp with crab (we don't really like shrimp) and put a bit in each bowl, then ladeled the hot soup over it. I did not use the full amount of yogurt and am glad - with the spices, a cilantro sour cream would go better (and with the quality low fat/no fat sour cream would still be healthy). Definitely wasn't spicy enough but that is easily taken care of. Has lots of potential for each to customize to make it your own. Definitely going in the recipe box and has already been requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good. It's healthy. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
its-a-spicy. it only need a 1/2 - 1 tsp of salt to bring it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This soup was wonderful. I used canned tomatoes with green chile peppers. It was a little on the hot side for me, but I loved it. I will probably just make it with shrimp from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a fabulous, easy, & flavorful fish stew! I made a few changes for our preferences: added ½ cup chopped carrots, 1 celery stick chopped, ½ cup corn; subbed 2 fresh jalapenos for the green chilies, sub veggie stock for ckn stock, sub red bell pepper for green, used canned fire roasted diced tomatoes; added 1 tsp. old bay, pinch of Cajun seasoning, 1 extra clove of garlic. Used sour cream instead of yogurt (what I had on hand) and served it with lime wedge & avocado slices on top. Turned out spicy, delicious, and very filling! Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I tweaked it based on what I had (1 tbsp California Chile Pepper instead of 2 tbsp chile powder, no yogurt because I don't do dairy, no shrimp because I didn't have any, fresh jalapeno instead of canned green chile peppers). I also added a couple of tablespoons of chopped cilantro. My husband was over the moon. Yum. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Excellent. I substituted vegetable broth, jalapenos, and fresh tomatoes due to what I had available. Good with a bit of Tapatio/tobasco/other hot sauce mixed in when served. This would also be good with other seafood thrown in as well... scallops, crab, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellent soup...very easy, healthy and yummy...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was GREAT. Thank you for sharing. My family just love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Really good recipe, thanks. All I added was salt and crushed red pepper flakes. I’ll be keeping this for sure. Now, if you liked this then I'd like to recommend that you try the recipe for Brazilian Fish Stew from this site. I did cut the bell peppers from 4 to 2, but that’s all I changed. Different recipe but it will make your knees buckle. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States