Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Very good recipe! I changed it up a bit because my husband doesn't like tomatoes in his soup, and I was in an "Indonesian" mood. So I omitted the tomatoes and instead of cumin, used fresh ginger, turmeric and fresh parsley. I also cut way back on the chili powder because of our 18 month old and omitted the green chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I absolutely loved this soup. I used a couple chopped serrano chiles instead of green chiles, a little extra garlic, and replaced the shrimp with scallops. Cooking was quick and easy and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
WOW!!! I love this soup! Next time I'll be doubling up! ;-) Hubby were loving every bite he went for 3rds there was hardly left for my 11yr old daughter & I. My daughter wants it once a week now! WOW! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was delicious!! In the future I'll probably cut out the chili powder and try adding other veggies - carrots, celery, etc. This was so tasty and healthy! I used extra chicken broth as well as vegetable broth, added a bay leaf, and diced jalapenos. I doubled the garlic, used a yellow bell pepper just for the color, and I left out the yogurt. Seems like this would work with a variety of tasty combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFinTraining

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was just okay. Not that it didn't have a lot of flavor, and certainly spicy enough, my family just wasn't very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great Recipe! Reminds me of a cross between gumbo and chicken tortilla soup. I didn't find it too spicy, but if you don't like spicy, don't cook "Spicy Fish Soup". I used a can of Rotel instead of tomatoes and chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
The perfect recipe. Easy, inexpensive and full of flavor!! We had some leftover fish from a family dinner and this was the perfect use for it. I didn't add the yogurt and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Looking for healthy foods for my husband, and this looked like a winner. I thought it was pretty tasty, but unfortunately, he didn't care for it. 3 stars is the average of both of our ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
My husband really liked this recipe...my daughter went to bed hungry, but it really isn't a kid recipe. I thought it was good, but need something more. I added extra chiles and garlic, as well as substituting 1/2 the chicken broth for white wine. I served this over whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
OK I am no expert so maybe the fact that the green chilis I used were pickled made a huge difference but this was waaaay toooo hot to eat. I added a full carton of yogurt and some white sugar and my mouth is still flaming. Before the insane heat hit me, I did like the flavor, but after four bites my eyes were watering and my boyfriend was begging for mercy. I will be avoiding spicy food for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States