Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I was looking for a good, low fat, fish soup and LOVE this one! I made a couple of tweaks (I don't eat shellfish so only used cod, used veg broth instead of chicken, red bell pepper instead of green and used fire roasted tomatoes, and added so chipotle chili pepper for heat and flavor). The heat and the cumin flavor make this soup fabulous and I never would have put all of these flavors together with cod, so hats off to the recipe creator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
really good soup. I prefer it without the yogurt. I screwed it up when cooking and the yogurt began to curdle. Yummy never the less! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Excellent, very flavorful soup. Easy to change up on the seafood to whatever you like. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Very good recipe! I changed it up a bit because my husband doesn't like tomatoes in his soup, and I was in an "Indonesian" mood. So I omitted the tomatoes and instead of cumin, used fresh ginger, turmeric and fresh parsley. I also cut way back on the chili powder because of our 18 month old and omitted the green chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I absolutely loved this soup. I used a couple chopped serrano chiles instead of green chiles, a little extra garlic, and replaced the shrimp with scallops. Cooking was quick and easy and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
WOW!!! I love this soup! Next time I'll be doubling up! ;-) Hubby were loving every bite he went for 3rds there was hardly left for my 11yr old daughter & I. My daughter wants it once a week now! WOW! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was delicious!! In the future I'll probably cut out the chili powder and try adding other veggies - carrots, celery, etc. This was so tasty and healthy! I used extra chicken broth as well as vegetable broth, added a bay leaf, and diced jalapenos. I doubled the garlic, used a yellow bell pepper just for the color, and I left out the yogurt. Seems like this would work with a variety of tasty combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFinTraining

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was just okay. Not that it didn't have a lot of flavor, and certainly spicy enough, my family just wasn't very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great Recipe! Reminds me of a cross between gumbo and chicken tortilla soup. I didn't find it too spicy, but if you don't like spicy, don't cook "Spicy Fish Soup". I used a can of Rotel instead of tomatoes and chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
The perfect recipe. Easy, inexpensive and full of flavor!! We had some leftover fish from a family dinner and this was the perfect use for it. I didn't add the yogurt and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States