Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a fabulous, easy, & flavorful fish stew! I made a few changes for our preferences: added ½ cup chopped carrots, 1 celery stick chopped, ½ cup corn; subbed 2 fresh jalapenos for the green chilies, sub veggie stock for ckn stock, sub red bell pepper for green, used canned fire roasted diced tomatoes; added 1 tsp. old bay, pinch of Cajun seasoning, 1 extra clove of garlic. Used sour cream instead of yogurt (what I had on hand) and served it with lime wedge & avocado slices on top. Turned out spicy, delicious, and very filling! Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. I tweaked it based on what I had (1 tbsp California Chile Pepper instead of 2 tbsp chile powder, no yogurt because I don't do dairy, no shrimp because I didn't have any, fresh jalapeno instead of canned green chile peppers). I also added a couple of tablespoons of chopped cilantro. My husband was over the moon. Yum. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzettew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Excellent. I substituted vegetable broth, jalapenos, and fresh tomatoes due to what I had available. Good with a bit of Tapatio/tobasco/other hot sauce mixed in when served. This would also be good with other seafood thrown in as well... scallops, crab, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellent soup...very easy, healthy and yummy...will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was GREAT. Thank you for sharing. My family just love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Really good recipe, thanks. All I added was salt and crushed red pepper flakes. I’ll be keeping this for sure. Now, if you liked this then I'd like to recommend that you try the recipe for Brazilian Fish Stew from this site. I did cut the bell peppers from 4 to 2, but that’s all I changed. Different recipe but it will make your knees buckle. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Give it a bit of Thai flare.. Substitute cubed potatoes for the tomato's... Toss in a bit of spicy Yellow Curry Powder to taste. Simulate a coconut milk curry by keeping the yogurt and adding a bit of Splenda to keep calorie count low, but the complete full body of heat and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Thanks for this easy recipe. I made it just as written, but forgot to put the yogurt in. It was a good thing, because I didn't care for the serving I added yogurt to. It was much better without the yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Wow is this good!! I made it with cod only since I didn't have shrimp. I used one can of Rotel and one can diced tomatoes since I did not have the chiles and the rest the same as written. It was great my 11 and 12 yr old daughters LOVED it. It is only 3 pts on the new WW program too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
skeptical of fish soup i used tilipia. i changed the recipe to my taste. very spicy and less tomato.and cubed potatoes. i will say that the recipe could have been more specific how to chop up that fish. in all i will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States