Spicy Fish Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
INCREDIBLE !!!! I am a vegetarian, so I didn't taste it. My husband said it was FANTASTIC, and he usually doesn't rave about food. I omitted the shrimp and yogurt, as he doesn't eat shell fish or dairy. I doubled the cod & used canned, diced tomatoes that have peppers in it...in addition to what the recipe called for. He actually woke up the next morning and said that he had a dream about this soup...LOL. It was so easy to make. I will never let him see the recipe because he thinks that it was difficult to make and took all day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made this last night for my family and needless to say, it went quick. It was such a hit that I made more and took it to my Mom and brother. Everyone agreed that it was the best fish soup they ever had. Changes: I didn't add tomatoes since I was out of them, added a tbsp of hot jalapeno green salsa for a nice kick, then at the final stage I added a tbsp of fresh chopped parsley, and 2 tbsp of heavy whipping cream. Since using chicken bouillon can sometimes make a dish saltier, I added 2-1/4 cups of water with 2 chicken cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I tried all cod. Pretty good, worth tinkering with, probably better with shrimp.Mine curdled when I added the yogurt, which spoiled the looks, although it tasted good. (May be my fault. I had added some lemon juice before remembering to put the yogurt in.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I wasn't overly impressed by this dish, but it did have some good flavors. It definitely could use a pinch of salt and something acidic as well (maybe lime juice or a splash of vinegar). I used a jalapeno with some the seeds in place of the canned chiles for a more fresh spicy flavor. Overall, this is a good base dish to tweak to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious! Made made recipe for 6, omitted green pepper and used one can of Muir Glen diced tomatoes with Adobe and one regular can diced tomatoes. Instead of yogurt (didn't have) used a splash of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Duxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
For me, this is only a 3 but my family really liked it. Replaced the cod with tilapia loins (cheaper and tastier) and the shrimp with crab (we don't really like shrimp) and put a bit in each bowl, then ladeled the hot soup over it. I did not use the full amount of yogurt and am glad - with the spices, a cilantro sour cream would go better (and with the quality low fat/no fat sour cream would still be healthy). Definitely wasn't spicy enough but that is easily taken care of. Has lots of potential for each to customize to make it your own. Definitely going in the recipe box and has already been requested again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good. It's healthy. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
its-a-spicy. it only need a 1/2 - 1 tsp of salt to bring it all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This soup was wonderful. I used canned tomatoes with green chile peppers. It was a little on the hot side for me, but I loved it. I will probably just make it with shrimp from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is a fabulous, easy, & flavorful fish stew! I made a few changes for our preferences: added ½ cup chopped carrots, 1 celery stick chopped, ½ cup corn; subbed 2 fresh jalapenos for the green chilies, sub veggie stock for ckn stock, sub red bell pepper for green, used canned fire roasted diced tomatoes; added 1 tsp. old bay, pinch of Cajun seasoning, 1 extra clove of garlic. Used sour cream instead of yogurt (what I had on hand) and served it with lime wedge & avocado slices on top. Turned out spicy, delicious, and very filling! Thanks for sharing this great recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States