Spicy English Seven-Layer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This salad is amazing! I added about 1 tsp extra of brown sugar to the dressing just because I didn't think it was quite sweet enough. I also put in some scallions, and cauliflower and next time i would add hard boiled eggs and grape tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My rating is definitely written for this dressing!! I was searching for a new and interesting way to top a seven-layer salad for a pot-luck, found this recipe with these simple dressing ingredients, and gave it a try. This dressing is EXCELLENT!! My typical seven-layer salad is very different than this (no peas or pasta, fresh spring greens and spinach plus the lettuce, eggs, bacon, tomato, mushrooms, carrots, carmelized nuts, green onion, etc., etc., whatever you like), but the addition of this dressing made it all so much better. Most of these salads are topped with plain mayo, which is so super-boring. This dressing, on the other hand, has only four ingredients but tastes so much more complex than that. I used low-fat mayo with the measures of brown sugar, curry and garlic salt exactly as listed. The combination of brown sugar and curry is something I would never have come up with myself, and is soo good. Light, refreshing, and enhanced all the flavors in the salad without overpowering it. The amount of dressing was perfect for topping a salad in a large glass trifle bowl. I made up the dressing two hours before needed, placed it in the frig to let the flavors mingle, and then put it on top of the salad just before leaving for the pot-luck so nothing would wilt or soften. The salad disappeared, and everyone wanted to know where I bought the dressing. I was so proud to say it was homemade and all natural. Thank you so much, Miss Sriri, for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
We really llike this it is a change from the layered salad I usuallly make... love the shells really changes this salad.. Oh, I did not add the curry powder..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Have tried this twice and both times nobody cared for it at all. Thought I must have done something wrong with it the first time, nope, we really just do not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This was so easy to make and so pretty to look at. I will make this again and again. What a great reason to whip out the trifle dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this for a party once and since then everyone requests it for their parties; it's just wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
WOW! The only change I made was that I used 1 c. light mayo and 1 c. fat free sour cream instead of 2 c. mayo for the dressing. I think I will go back for seconds now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
The first time I made this I thought it was o.k. But then I tasted it the next day and it was delicious. Now it is one of my faves. It is addicting like another reviewer said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
The dressing on this was awesome! The curry really dresses this standard up. I changed some of the layers, but I thought the amount of dressing was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was alright, definitely new. I thought there was was too much dressing though. If i make it again i'll be using less dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States