Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Spyce
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Really good recipe. I used rice wine instead of water, brown sugar instead of white, and I added about a teaspoon of grated fresh ginger. Instead of adding the garlic and sesame oil at later stages in the recipe, I mixed both with the sauce. I diced the onion instead of slicing so everything would be the same shape. I used Lee Kum Kee Garlic Chili Sauce. It's really chunky and more of a paste than a sauce. I don't find it that spicy so I added red pepper flakes to the sauce to boost up the heat. I stir fried the eggplant in two batches using a 14" carbon steel wok, and added about 6 fresh basil leaves to the last batch. I returned the eggplant and onion back to the wok and then stirred in the sauce and let it cook for a minute or so. I kept stirring as it cooked to keep it from burning. I will make this again as it is a tasty and quick recipe for eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
When I originally posted this recepie it called for Thai chili garlic paste (or chili bean sauce) depending on what you can find. In China I use spicey black bean sauce, and in the U.S. the Thai paste. Depends on what I have availiable. I'm not sure why it would ever be too liquid, as I more often have to add extra water rather than thicken it. I love this recepie and it is a staple in our household. Fast easy & healthy. Just the way I like them ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China
Photo by ELKA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe!! I actually didn't have sesame oil but I could see how it would just add more to the flavors. I also substituted Worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce. The flavors were just right with the chili sauce, not too spicy, just the right kick. Thanks for sharing this recipe I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was my first shot at using eggplant as a main dish other than an eggplant parmesan. This dish was easy, wonderfully flavorful, and filling. My husband says this is a keeper. The only 'changes' I made was using fish sauce instead of oyster sauce and a medium-sized Italian eggplant based on what we had on-hand. This will become a go-to after work dinner or weekend lunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Made this exactly following the recipe, but added chicken that I had marinated in garlic and soy sauce and pan seared. It was super tasty served over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I loved this. I find eggplant is best when the texture is almost mushy so I doubled the cooking time and the results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Ok, so this recipe actually was supposed to be for Spicy Eggplant however, when I cut into my eggplant it was bad (brown all the way through). So, needless to say I had to make a change. So I replaced the eggplant with firm tofu, and cooked the rest according to directions. I added about 1 teaspoon of grated ginger, and about 8 oz. of edamame to the mix too. I also replaced the chili sauce with chile paste and a squirt of sriracha... turned out delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is a phenomenal way to use eggplant. I used Sriracha because i did not have any Garlic Chili sauce and it add a good amount of spice - also i added ginger and the garlic and sesame oil to the sauce as other reviews did and it's a great flavor blend. I suggest cooking everything together for much longer, almost 15 minutes, so the eggplant gets really creamy and absorbs all the sauce. Great, easy, fast recipe! Oh- i also added oyster mushrooms - great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! This recipe has a lot of flavor and I like that I could put it together very quickly. I didn't have chili garlic sauce so I substituted with a habanero hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made this dish for the first time for a dinner party. The flavors were fantastic! The only problem was that I didn't cook the eggplant long enough so it was a bit bitter. Still, some of my friends (who don't like eggplant) raved about how much they enjoyed it! I can't wait to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States