Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I loved this. I find eggplant is best when the texture is almost mushy so I doubled the cooking time and the results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! This recipe has a lot of flavor and I like that I could put it together very quickly. I didn't have chili garlic sauce so I substituted with a habanero hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made this dish for the first time for a dinner party. The flavors were fantastic! The only problem was that I didn't cook the eggplant long enough so it was a bit bitter. Still, some of my friends (who don't like eggplant) raved about how much they enjoyed it! I can't wait to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Excellent dish. I added some diced Greek sausage to this meal which added extra flavor, but I think it would go equally well without the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbudnikblues

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I'm really not sure how to rate this recipe. It wasn't bad but just OK. I did have to thicken the sauce with cornstarch. The taste didn't improve as leftovers and I threw the rest out--no one wanted it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
When I originally posted this recepie it called for Thai chili garlic paste (or chili bean sauce) depending on what you can find. In China I use spicey black bean sauce, and in the U.S. the Thai paste. Depends on what I have availiable. I'm not sure why it would ever be too liquid, as I more often have to add extra water rather than thicken it. I love this recepie and it is a staple in our household. Fast easy & healthy. Just the way I like them ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China
Photo by Spyce
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Really good recipe. I used rice wine instead of water, brown sugar instead of white, and I added about a teaspoon of grated fresh ginger. Instead of adding the garlic and sesame oil at later stages in the recipe, I mixed both with the sauce. I diced the onion instead of slicing so everything would be the same shape. I used Lee Kum Kee Garlic Chili Sauce. It's really chunky and more of a paste than a sauce. I don't find it that spicy so I added red pepper flakes to the sauce to boost up the heat. I stir fried the eggplant in two batches using a 14" carbon steel wok, and added about 6 fresh basil leaves to the last batch. I returned the eggplant and onion back to the wok and then stirred in the sauce and let it cook for a minute or so. I kept stirring as it cooked to keep it from burning. I will make this again as it is a tasty and quick recipe for eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Excellent eggplant recipe! Definitely a pleaser. Don't forget the sesame seed oil though! I initially forgot it, and it really makes the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
very good, a little timely, but well worth it. I added slightly fried tofue and mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELKA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe!! I actually didn't have sesame oil but I could see how it would just add more to the flavors. I also substituted Worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce. The flavors were just right with the chili sauce, not too spicy, just the right kick. Thanks for sharing this recipe I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States