Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Love this recipe. I cook it a lot longer and prepare it in an electric skillet, turn it down to warm after the initial cooking time and just let it sit for an additional hour or so to absorb all the seasonings and sauce. Pairs great with a curry dish. Always a huge hit with family and friends. I do double the chili garlic sauce. Also works well with regular eggplant, it doesn't haveto be the Japanese variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I loved this! I'm in Japan visiting my daughter and bought this eggplant without knowing what I'd make with it. I'll make this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this recipe thank you thank you it was perfect I made exactly as stated and Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Quick easy and delicious! Not to mention low fat and healthy. I did eliminate the sugar and used red peppers instead of garlic chili because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I always struggle with eggplant; I love it when I eat out but when I make it at home it's terrible! This recipe changed that! The ONLY thing I changed was instead of oyster sauce I used fish sauce, and I doubled the sauce (as I roasted chicken thighs on the side and basted them in some of the sauce). Great recipe, will defintely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritaadu
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit b/c I LOVED the sauce so much. I also try to eat as healthy and natural as possible. With that being said. I used less eggplant,but more sauce. I mixed the eggplant and 2tbs of olive oil in a freezer bag to evenly coat the slices. I cooked it for about 10 minutes b/c I like my eggplant soft. I also changed the amount of soy sauce, clam sauce, and chili garlic sauce to 1/4 cup each. Instead of sugar, I added 1 tbs of natural honey, and I used 1/2 cup of water. I like kick, so I added some red pepper flakes at the end as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was great! I used worchestershire sauce instead of oyster sauce, as one of the other reviewers had mentioned and peeled the eggplant first because I usually find the peel to be too tough. It was great! I did cook it longer than recommended, but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I just made this recipe; I was looking for something new and tasty to do with eggplant. The smell before it was done was amazing. I used white wine in place of water, fish oil instead of oyster sauce and didn't have any chili garlic sauce on hand. I added red pepper flakes to taste and served with seasoned rice. Very tasty, will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LearninToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
LOVED IT!!! I have been looking for this recipe. This recipe is really good, almost a perfect copy-cat of my favorite dish from PF Chang's. I wish it made more sauce though for the rice. Next time I will triple the ingredients for the sauce except for the chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Love it. We make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States