Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I always struggle with eggplant; I love it when I eat out but when I make it at home it's terrible! This recipe changed that! The ONLY thing I changed was instead of oyster sauce I used fish sauce, and I doubled the sauce (as I roasted chicken thighs on the side and basted them in some of the sauce). Great recipe, will defintely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ritaadu
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit b/c I LOVED the sauce so much. I also try to eat as healthy and natural as possible. With that being said. I used less eggplant,but more sauce. I mixed the eggplant and 2tbs of olive oil in a freezer bag to evenly coat the slices. I cooked it for about 10 minutes b/c I like my eggplant soft. I also changed the amount of soy sauce, clam sauce, and chili garlic sauce to 1/4 cup each. Instead of sugar, I added 1 tbs of natural honey, and I used 1/2 cup of water. I like kick, so I added some red pepper flakes at the end as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was great! I used worchestershire sauce instead of oyster sauce, as one of the other reviewers had mentioned and peeled the eggplant first because I usually find the peel to be too tough. It was great! I did cook it longer than recommended, but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I just made this recipe; I was looking for something new and tasty to do with eggplant. The smell before it was done was amazing. I used white wine in place of water, fish oil instead of oyster sauce and didn't have any chili garlic sauce on hand. I added red pepper flakes to taste and served with seasoned rice. Very tasty, will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LearninToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
LOVED IT!!! I have been looking for this recipe. This recipe is really good, almost a perfect copy-cat of my favorite dish from PF Chang's. I wish it made more sauce though for the rice. Next time I will triple the ingredients for the sauce except for the chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Love it. We make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I had to adapt the spicey sauces with what I had, but its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Awesome! Tasted like it does at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was very tasty, and I don't even really like eggplant! I did need to make a few replacements though. Worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce, Sriracha for the chili garlic sauce, and red onion for the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wow, great flavor! Loved it. Quick and easy too, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States