Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I added mushrooms, red pepper strips and cherry tomatoes. Used everything but oyster sauce to keep vegetarian. Served over ramen noodles (without seasoning packet). I used Rosa Bianca eggplant from Farmers' Market. It has a wonderfully firm texture and not watery as regular eggplant can be. Can't wait to have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Tasty! Will make again.....maybe add mushrooms??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I cooked my eggplant down so it would be soft (that's how I prefer it). I think tofu would've been a good addition too with a side of long beans. The sesame oil is essential for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Good basic recipe. Too salty for our tastes. Cut back on the oyster sauce - 2t. and added at least a cup of chicken broth at the simmering stage. Also added 1/2 lb. of ground pork after cooking the onions and garlic together. Turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is really good. I wish I had peeled the eggplant because the skin was a little tough. I added more chili garlic sauce because I like things pretty spicy. Also omitted the oyster sauce to make this vegetarian. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I am usually wary of cooking eggplant but this will be my new favorite even my 2 year old ate hers all up. I didn't add as much onions but still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very delicious. I followed the recipe pretty closely only I didn't have the chili garlic sauce which I'm sure would have given it even more of a kick. Instead I added some cayenne and cumin and man this dish is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was delicious. I added precooked sausage for the extra protein, and I think next time I would not do that. It would have been very rich and satisfying without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Ok, so this recipe actually was supposed to be for Spicy Eggplant however, when I cut into my eggplant it was bad (brown all the way through). So, needless to say I had to make a change. So I replaced the eggplant with firm tofu, and cooked the rest according to directions. I added about 1 teaspoon of grated ginger, and about 8 oz. of edamame to the mix too. I also replaced the chili sauce with chile paste and a squirt of sriracha... turned out delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Lovely tasty recipe. I used Asian Chili sauce and doubled the amount (we like spicy) This is a do again recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States