Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make this often. Our family loves it. Sometimes I add other veggies too. I don't use the oyster sauce, because I am a vegetarian, but it is awesome and I am an American, living in Beijing and I have served it to local Chinese people who loved it too. I serve it with rice and put spicy peanuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Wonderful. I loved the little bit of spice with the eggplant. I served this with rice and I was expecting to have leftovers for lunch but there were none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Used most of the same changes as "Spyce" & used miniature white eggplant & dark purple. The chili garlic sauce I used (tuong ot toi Vietnam) was very hot, but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
There are many other easy eggplant recipes that tastes so much better than this one! Way too much onions and the sauce taste was below average; both my husband and I didn't like it at all and we normally love asian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy! Made half the recipe using black bean garlic paste instead of oyster sauce and half the amount of onions. Followed one suggestion &added a splash of rice vinegar but it wasn't necessary really. I would definitely add tofu next time. Thanks for a great, easy recipe that worked well with my homegrown japanese eggplants. I used a little extra water for steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Just tried this recipe and it was a hit. I substituted hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce as I can't eat seafood, and added some crushed red pepper as we like things spicy. Everyone thought the flavor was fantastic. My only fault was the consistency of the eggplant. A little too mushy for my taste. Next time I will cook the eggplant less. The leftovers were great over plain ramen noodles for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
A tasty, easy way to use the Japanese eggplant in our garden. I made this last night and it got rave reviews and disappeared quickly. I will definately be making this often. It's great for a light supper, side dish or an hors devours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was better than anything I've ordered at a restaurant and healthier, too! I didn't have any oyster sauce so I just omitted it. I added thinly sliced mushrooms and served it over quinoa. It had just the right amount of heat for me. This is going to be my go-to eggplant recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Add more chili paste to make it spicier. Cashews for crunch. Green onions for color. Serve on rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love to order eggplant when I go out and this is a great recipe that I can now make at home. I followed the instructions making only a few slight modifications - I added in a splash of rice wine vinegar, brown sugar instead of white, a teaspoon of teriyaki sauce and a sprinkle of ginger. Also, I left out the sesame oil and sprinkled toasted sesame seeds on the top. I served alongside sticky rice, broccoli, and prawns made simply with butter and lemon. I will certainly make this dish again and found the inclusion of Japanese eggplant versus the standard variety larger headed eggplant to be the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States