Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This is so delicious! I used Sriracha sauce for the chili garlic sauce. I also like my eggplant very soft so I cooked it for an additional 20-25 minutes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This was a wonderful dish made just as recipe instructed. This is now my go-to dish for Asian eggplant. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BadLittleChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is such a great way to use eggplant! I added some chopped chicken thighs for my men and served this over cauliflower rice. It turned out sooo good and made a great vegetarian and non- vegetarian dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
excellent recipe! I don't use the sesame oil or oyster oil and change the onions to scallions (better for people who get migraines). And instead of the chili garlic sauce I use sriracha sauce - its amazing! But if you use too much it is fire hot! be careful. Everything else is exactly the same... wonderful everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Made this twice so far. Turned out really nice. The sauce goes well over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was a geat recipe. The only change I made I added some ginger with the galic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Wow this was awesome! I halved the recipe. I used frozen regular eggplant from last year's garden. Because I halved the recipe, it only called for 1 onion, however I had half an onion and half a green pepper in the fridge to use. I used that instead! It was awesome!!!! LOVED THIS!! It wasn't overly spicy either. Just right. Oh yeah, I never use the skin on the eggplant. I don't like the skin at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
The sauce for this recipe is delicious. I was upset to find out that I didn't have the oyster sauce needed for this recipe, and I see how it would have improved the taste. I found that I needed to cook my eggplant a LOT longer for it to be really tender, and I had to keep adding more sauce because it would just dry out after a while, and because it needed more flavor, which was surprising because I only used two eggplants instead of four. Also, I reduced the heat to low, covered the pan, and cooked the eggplants for about 15-20 minutes more than what the recipe called for. I even made extra of the spicy sauce and served it on the side if anyone wanted it extra spicy and flavorful. After making these changes, the recipe turned out really good. Even the 10 year old, who doesn't like eating vegetables at all, couldn't stop going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Love this recipe. I cook it a lot longer and prepare it in an electric skillet, turn it down to warm after the initial cooking time and just let it sit for an additional hour or so to absorb all the seasonings and sauce. Pairs great with a curry dish. Always a huge hit with family and friends. I do double the chili garlic sauce. Also works well with regular eggplant, it doesn't haveto be the Japanese variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I loved this! I'm in Japan visiting my daughter and bought this eggplant without knowing what I'd make with it. I'll make this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States