Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Ok, so this recipe actually was supposed to be for Spicy Eggplant however, when I cut into my eggplant it was bad (brown all the way through). So, needless to say I had to make a change. So I replaced the eggplant with firm tofu, and cooked the rest according to directions. I added about 1 teaspoon of grated ginger, and about 8 oz. of edamame to the mix too. I also replaced the chili sauce with chile paste and a squirt of sriracha... turned out delish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! This recipe has a lot of flavor and I like that I could put it together very quickly. I didn't have chili garlic sauce so I substituted with a habanero hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made this dish for the first time for a dinner party. The flavors were fantastic! The only problem was that I didn't cook the eggplant long enough so it was a bit bitter. Still, some of my friends (who don't like eggplant) raved about how much they enjoyed it! I can't wait to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Excellent dish. I added some diced Greek sausage to this meal which added extra flavor, but I think it would go equally well without the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbudnikblues

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
very good, a little timely, but well worth it. I added slightly fried tofue and mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELKA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe!! I actually didn't have sesame oil but I could see how it would just add more to the flavors. I also substituted Worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce. The flavors were just right with the chili sauce, not too spicy, just the right kick. Thanks for sharing this recipe I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was my first shot at using eggplant as a main dish other than an eggplant parmesan. This dish was easy, wonderfully flavorful, and filling. My husband says this is a keeper. The only 'changes' I made was using fish sauce instead of oyster sauce and a medium-sized Italian eggplant based on what we had on-hand. This will become a go-to after work dinner or weekend lunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bergy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Lovely tasty recipe. I used Asian Chili sauce and doubled the amount (we like spicy) This is a do again recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was delicious. I added precooked sausage for the extra protein, and I think next time I would not do that. It would have been very rich and satisfying without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States