Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I loved this. I find eggplant is best when the texture is almost mushy so I doubled the cooking time and the results were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very good! This recipe has a lot of flavor and I like that I could put it together very quickly. I didn't have chili garlic sauce so I substituted with a habanero hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made this dish for the first time for a dinner party. The flavors were fantastic! The only problem was that I didn't cook the eggplant long enough so it was a bit bitter. Still, some of my friends (who don't like eggplant) raved about how much they enjoyed it! I can't wait to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Excellent dish. I added some diced Greek sausage to this meal which added extra flavor, but I think it would go equally well without the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbudnikblues

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I'm really not sure how to rate this recipe. It wasn't bad but just OK. I did have to thicken the sauce with cornstarch. The taste didn't improve as leftovers and I threw the rest out--no one wanted it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
When I originally posted this recepie it called for Thai chili garlic paste (or chili bean sauce) depending on what you can find. In China I use spicey black bean sauce, and in the U.S. the Thai paste. Depends on what I have availiable. I'm not sure why it would ever be too liquid, as I more often have to add extra water rather than thicken it. I love this recepie and it is a staple in our household. Fast easy & healthy. Just the way I like them ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China
Photo by Spyce
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Really good recipe. I used rice wine instead of water, brown sugar instead of white, and I added about a teaspoon of grated fresh ginger. Instead of adding the garlic and sesame oil at later stages in the recipe, I mixed both with the sauce. I diced the onion instead of slicing so everything would be the same shape. I used Lee Kum Kee Garlic Chili Sauce. It's really chunky and more of a paste than a sauce. I don't find it that spicy so I added red pepper flakes to the sauce to boost up the heat. I stir fried the eggplant in two batches using a 14" carbon steel wok, and added about 6 fresh basil leaves to the last batch. I returned the eggplant and onion back to the wok and then stirred in the sauce and let it cook for a minute or so. I kept stirring as it cooked to keep it from burning. I will make this again as it is a tasty and quick recipe for eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Excellent eggplant recipe! Definitely a pleaser. Don't forget the sesame seed oil though! I initially forgot it, and it really makes the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
very good, a little timely, but well worth it. I added slightly fried tofue and mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELKA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I loved this recipe!! I actually didn't have sesame oil but I could see how it would just add more to the flavors. I also substituted Worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce. The flavors were just right with the chili sauce, not too spicy, just the right kick. Thanks for sharing this recipe I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States