Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
There are many other easy eggplant recipes that tastes so much better than this one! Way too much onions and the sauce taste was below average; both my husband and I didn't like it at all and we normally love asian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy! Made half the recipe using black bean garlic paste instead of oyster sauce and half the amount of onions. Followed one suggestion &added a splash of rice vinegar but it wasn't necessary really. I would definitely add tofu next time. Thanks for a great, easy recipe that worked well with my homegrown japanese eggplants. I used a little extra water for steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Just tried this recipe and it was a hit. I substituted hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce as I can't eat seafood, and added some crushed red pepper as we like things spicy. Everyone thought the flavor was fantastic. My only fault was the consistency of the eggplant. A little too mushy for my taste. Next time I will cook the eggplant less. The leftovers were great over plain ramen noodles for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
A tasty, easy way to use the Japanese eggplant in our garden. I made this last night and it got rave reviews and disappeared quickly. I will definately be making this often. It's great for a light supper, side dish or an hors devours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was better than anything I've ordered at a restaurant and healthier, too! I didn't have any oyster sauce so I just omitted it. I added thinly sliced mushrooms and served it over quinoa. It had just the right amount of heat for me. This is going to be my go-to eggplant recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Add more chili paste to make it spicier. Cashews for crunch. Green onions for color. Serve on rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I love to order eggplant when I go out and this is a great recipe that I can now make at home. I followed the instructions making only a few slight modifications - I added in a splash of rice wine vinegar, brown sugar instead of white, a teaspoon of teriyaki sauce and a sprinkle of ginger. Also, I left out the sesame oil and sprinkled toasted sesame seeds on the top. I served alongside sticky rice, broccoli, and prawns made simply with butter and lemon. I will certainly make this dish again and found the inclusion of Japanese eggplant versus the standard variety larger headed eggplant to be the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Came out good but I did some changes. I browned 3 chicken breast cubed and then added the eggplant. And to the sauce I added 1Tbsn of teriyaki sauce, 1/2 Tbsn of fish sauce and I didn't have any garlic chilli so I replace it with 1/4 Tbsn of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was great! I omnitted the otster sauce since my daughter has a seafood allergy, but everything else was the same. I spread it over pizza dough and sprinkled it with cheese (although it really didn't need it) and baked it. My husband and all 5 kids - from my 21 yo daughter down to my 6 yo - absolutely LOVED it (and most of them hate eggplant). They were crushed the next day to find there were no leftovers. Thanks venymae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Excellent! I add shrimp for my husband for protein, and I also double the sauce, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States