Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Easy to make and very tasty! I added red bell peppers and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made a few months ago, in the fall. I'm just now writing my review. I used chili sauce and added more fresh garlic than the recipe called for. I added some dried chili pepper, because I like spicy. I added some fresh green beans and it turned out wonderful. The only thing I had an issue with was the liquid. It seemed that the eggplant kept soaking up whatever liquid I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Great dish! Quick, easy, and low cal and so stinkin' good! I made modifications like some others' reviews: rice wine vinegar instead of water, low sodium worcestershire instead of oyster sauce (don't have any), and upped the chili paste b/c it can never be too spicy for me. Also used coconut oil to stir fry the veggies and tossed in about a cup of sliced baby bella mushrooms that were fixin to go bad. This is a great recipe to play around with and add other ingredients. I can't wait to have my leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenn0925
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe rocks! Just made it and couldn't wait to review and rave and say thanks for sharing it! Yummmmm! Didn't have Oyster sauce so took the tip about using worcestershire sauce Instead. Do not skip sesame oil drizzle; really brings it all together. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Very tasty! I made this exact to the recipe. Although the recipe didn't specify, I did peel the eggplant. The only difference, was that I added cooked cubed chicken and served the meal over jasmine rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I make this often. Our family loves it. Sometimes I add other veggies too. I don't use the oyster sauce, because I am a vegetarian, but it is awesome and I am an American, living in Beijing and I have served it to local Chinese people who loved it too. I serve it with rice and put spicy peanuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Wonderful. I loved the little bit of spice with the eggplant. I served this with rice and I was expecting to have leftovers for lunch but there were none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Used most of the same changes as "Spyce" & used miniature white eggplant & dark purple. The chili garlic sauce I used (tuong ot toi Vietnam) was very hot, but great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
There are many other easy eggplant recipes that tastes so much better than this one! Way too much onions and the sauce taste was below average; both my husband and I didn't like it at all and we normally love asian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yummy! Made half the recipe using black bean garlic paste instead of oyster sauce and half the amount of onions. Followed one suggestion &added a splash of rice vinegar but it wasn't necessary really. I would definitely add tofu next time. Thanks for a great, easy recipe that worked well with my homegrown japanese eggplants. I used a little extra water for steaming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States