Spicy Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was very tasty, and I don't even really like eggplant! I did need to make a few replacements though. Worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce, Sriracha for the chili garlic sauce, and red onion for the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Wow, great flavor! Loved it. Quick and easy too, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Followed recipe, just omitted sugar and used white eggplant from my garden. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Just loved this recipe. I added sweet chili sauce and used hot chili sesame oil and I added it in with the rest of the sauce ingredients and simmered it all together. We will definitely be having this dish again and again. Next time I will add a nice rice noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Bob not a real fan of eggplant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was a little bland and anything I did to make it better made it greasy or spicier. I've never used oyster sauce before, and I can't say I would again. In the end it was edible but I wouldn't make it again. I enjoyed cooking eggplant for the first time, it really shrinks. The recipe is pretty simple to follow and not especially difficult to make, just I didn't care for the flavor. I also thought sugar was a strange thing to add in something that is mainly a stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Easy to make and very tasty! I added red bell peppers and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made a few months ago, in the fall. I'm just now writing my review. I used chili sauce and added more fresh garlic than the recipe called for. I added some dried chili pepper, because I like spicy. I added some fresh green beans and it turned out wonderful. The only thing I had an issue with was the liquid. It seemed that the eggplant kept soaking up whatever liquid I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Great dish! Quick, easy, and low cal and so stinkin' good! I made modifications like some others' reviews: rice wine vinegar instead of water, low sodium worcestershire instead of oyster sauce (don't have any), and upped the chili paste b/c it can never be too spicy for me. Also used coconut oil to stir fry the veggies and tossed in about a cup of sliced baby bella mushrooms that were fixin to go bad. This is a great recipe to play around with and add other ingredients. I can't wait to have my leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenn0925
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This recipe rocks! Just made it and couldn't wait to review and rave and say thanks for sharing it! Yummmmm! Didn't have Oyster sauce so took the tip about using worcestershire sauce Instead. Do not skip sesame oil drizzle; really brings it all together. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States