Spicy Dorito® Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made these for myself. I never had taco salad with dressing before and I enjoyed these. I made the dressing as is and although, I didn't mind it being sweet, I wanted a tangier taste so I added a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is an old-fashioned taco salad - I remember eating this as a very young teen. This is good although we would prefer a bit more heat. Adding the chips at serving is definitely the way to go to avoid sogginess. The dressing is good - but way too sweet. I cut the sugar in half and it was still too sweet for our tastes. But overall it's a very good recipe for those who don't care for much heat but still enjoy the taco flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Everyone in my household loved this. Very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very good!! Will make again. I did as others suggested and used less sugar. I didn't even use half the amount required and it was still sweet. I used Cool Ranch Doritos instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Loved the dressing. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
The dressing was great! The only changes that I made were to use ground turkey instead of beef and I cooked the onion with the meat instead of using them raw. I left out the jalapenos and I put the dressing on the side. Everything else I followed the recipe. Very good taco salad. I would serve this at a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I really liked this salad. I have had it before and it was served with Catalina dressing BUT,, I think the dressing in this recepie is far better,,,I only changed the cheese because I had a taco blend on hand but I think any shredded cheese would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, Cool Ranch Doritoes, organic black beans and I doubled the amount of tomato. The pickled jalapeno peppers I used were homemade. The dressing was very unique. For us, it was VERY sweet. I would like to try it again but cut back on the sugar by at least half. Fun quick dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
YUM! This is the BEST Dorito salad that I've had, and I think the secret is in the dressing! Made exactly as written, and thought it was perfect as is...I mixed everything but the dressing (which I made earlier in the day and let it set) and the Doritos, then just mixed those in right before serving. This is a keeper and one that I will be making often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States