Spicy Dorito® Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
We have been making this for 38 years. Our recipe calls for Taco Flavored Doritos and Taco FLAVORED grated cheese (must say flavored, it is different from Taco Cheese) and bottled Creamy Italian salad dressing (the creamy whitish kind) Kroger Brand is what we use. We also use an envelope of taco seasoning and make make the taco meat according to package directions. Hint- Do not add hot meat to the salad, let it cool first. Mix the taco chips and dressing write before serving or it gets soggy. I omit the jalapeno peppers. Not everyone likes it hot. Every party we go to, we are asked to make this. I know some people use Western or Catalina Dressing, but that is too sweet. The tart Creamy Italian is the key ingredient to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Buckley Dirks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
My family really enjoys a good taco salad, and this one is good! I really enjoyed the dressing with the taco seasoning in it rather than on the meat. It was different and a method I would use again. I did only use a 1/4 cup of sugar and had 2 smalls ears of leftover corn-on-the-cob that I threw in the salad. Also added a garnish of avocado slices. The Doritos® were added right before eating so that they would remain crispy. My DS and DH both commented during dinner how good the salad tasted and it hit the spot. It was a very nice evening tonight, so we had dinner on the patio which made the meal even more enjoyable. Thanks Lora R, for sharing your recipe. It is a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This is one of those meals you wish you had more room in your tummy. I've had many taco salads, but none to equal this one. The only change I made was cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I have made Taco Salad many times, with or without meat, Italian dressing, Catalina dressing, with salsa, sour cream, you name it. This is my all time fave meal, you can't do it wrong. Will try the homemade dressing, sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzybel57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tweed, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Perfect! The whole family loved this recipe and wants more of it another night. Love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Every time I make this salad for picnics, I can't stop eating it and its always gone! Very tasty and the doritos really make it tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This is sooo tasty and awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made this taco salad several times now and everyone who has eaten it raves about it. I made a mistake one time and added taco seasoning to the meat and the dressing and it was doubly good. I add some sliced black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solon Springs, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made these for myself. I never had taco salad with dressing before and I enjoyed these. I made the dressing as is and although, I didn't mind it being sweet, I wanted a tangier taste so I added a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is an old-fashioned taco salad - I remember eating this as a very young teen. This is good although we would prefer a bit more heat. Adding the chips at serving is definitely the way to go to avoid sogginess. The dressing is good - but way too sweet. I cut the sugar in half and it was still too sweet for our tastes. But overall it's a very good recipe for those who don't care for much heat but still enjoy the taco flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States