Spicy Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Lives up to it's name (SPIIICY!) I'll def. wanna make this more often, but twice the quantity. I added a dallop of sour cream to my bowl to calm my taste buds, and also garnished with parsley flakes. I subbed soy milk, and it was fine. This will clear your sinuses! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
An excellent soup, totally defying the cliche "cool as a cucumber". This is one of the few recipes on here that I've ever cooked as is without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Wow!!! This is good. I did not have the curry powder so I used corriandar. I did not use the cayenne. It would have been too spicy for my family. But WOW. I went to the garden and had 3 more cukes. I know I am doing with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This soup was awesome! Wasn't sure if I would like it given some of the mixed reviews. I didn't have any cayenne so I sub'ed a jalepeno. It was def. spicy, but not over the top. I also doubled the recipe and was glad i did. Just as easy to make twice as much, and even then it wasn't a big batch. It all fit in the blender in one batch (I held the top tight to make sure it didn't splash.) I'm trying to cut back on dairy, next time I will sub soy milk and I think it would still be great. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I'm really glad that I came across the recipe because it's become one of my favorite (and best) dishes! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'm absolutely in love with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent soup but half the spice if your feeding the average wife:) Very good with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is excellent, even though I had to sub paprika for cayenne and left out the sesame oil. I also halved the amount of curry powder. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
it was great, had no sesme oil and used paprika, thanks heaps had to go pick more cucumbers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Who ever thought a cucumber dish could have you running for a glass of milk! VERY spicy, could easily halve the spices and still get a good kick from this. My father and I mixed this soup into some leftover white rice and this created an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States