Spicy Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ben
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This soup was very good, and very spicy. I was looking for something to make with my cucumbers (other than pickles), and found this recipe. Unlike most of the other cucumber soups, this is hot and doesn't require sour cream. I recommend this recipe. Be careful when blending it, though, so it doesn't explode out of your blender and all over, making a mess or burning you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This soup was a hit! My kitchen smells delicious and I can't wait to try it again. What I did differently: - omitted the crushed red pepper flakes - used chicken broth instead of vegetable - used 4 smallish cucumbers - added 3 small potatoes What I plan to do differently next time: - half the cayenne pepper (at least) - puree half of the soup to a chunky consistency, and puree the other half to a creamier consistency I didn't believe the reviewers who said it was too spicy. We love spicy food so the only thing I omitted was the crushed red pepper, because we didn't have any on hand. It wasn't spicy enough to stop me from eating two bowls of it -- but I do think that next time I will at least halve the cayenne pepper. If it's still too spicy after that, I may cut back on the curry. I think the curry is part of what makes this so tasty though, so that's the last thing I'll consider cutting back. My husband didn't like the creamy consistency, so I'm going to try leaving half of the soup a little chunkier for him next time. My husband is not a soup lover, and we were both a little wary of cucumber soup -- but he really seemed to enjoy this soup so it's definitely going to be a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naha, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great ideas to spice up cucumber soup. I skipped the red pepper flakes and used fresh tomatillos and two fresh serrano chili peppers instead for the heat. I also included 3 very small russet potatoes and had chix broth, not veggie broth. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Who ever thought a cucumber dish could have you running for a glass of milk! VERY spicy, could easily halve the spices and still get a good kick from this. My father and I mixed this soup into some leftover white rice and this created an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
An excellent soup, totally defying the cliche "cool as a cucumber". This is one of the few recipes on here that I've ever cooked as is without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I love spicy food, but cut the curry and cayenne in half and skipped the red pepper entirely based on other reviews and it was still way too hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'm absolutely in love with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This had a very good flavour, but it is very spicy. If you do not like spice, then you should cut the spices in half or more! Then you will be able to enjoy the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I'm really glad that I came across the recipe because it's become one of my favorite (and best) dishes! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Holy smokes is this spicy! I halved the cayenne and pepper flakes, and it was still super HOT! Will make again, but with 1/4 of the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States