Spicy Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This soup,hmmm,I don't know what to say,it's eatable. I left out the curry (didn't have any) and thank goodness! I thought I would go insane with heat in my mouth! it's way to hot to really taste the cucumbers. My mother did NOT like it at all,she just poured hers out and I will not serve this to my son. Cucumber soup is meant to be a cool soup not this spicy hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This soup was a hit! My kitchen smells delicious and I can't wait to try it again. What I did differently: - omitted the crushed red pepper flakes - used chicken broth instead of vegetable - used 4 smallish cucumbers - added 3 small potatoes What I plan to do differently next time: - half the cayenne pepper (at least) - puree half of the soup to a chunky consistency, and puree the other half to a creamier consistency I didn't believe the reviewers who said it was too spicy. We love spicy food so the only thing I omitted was the crushed red pepper, because we didn't have any on hand. It wasn't spicy enough to stop me from eating two bowls of it -- but I do think that next time I will at least halve the cayenne pepper. If it's still too spicy after that, I may cut back on the curry. I think the curry is part of what makes this so tasty though, so that's the last thing I'll consider cutting back. My husband didn't like the creamy consistency, so I'm going to try leaving half of the soup a little chunkier for him next time. My husband is not a soup lover, and we were both a little wary of cucumber soup -- but he really seemed to enjoy this soup so it's definitely going to be a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naha, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I didn't change the ingredient quantities except I doubled up on the cucumbers and it was still way too hot. If I make again I would cut out the cayenne and red pepper flakes and add cayenne to taste at the end. The curry powder may need adjusting too but the soup was so spicy it was hard to tell what the problem was. I've frozen the leftovers with a note to add milk or cream, so I haven't totally given up on it. The rating reflects the fact that IF I hadn't doubled up on the cucumbers, it wouldn't have been edible in our house, and I stress, we do like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is excellent, even though I had to sub paprika for cayenne and left out the sesame oil. I also halved the amount of curry powder. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great ideas to spice up cucumber soup. I skipped the red pepper flakes and used fresh tomatillos and two fresh serrano chili peppers instead for the heat. I also included 3 very small russet potatoes and had chix broth, not veggie broth. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent soup but half the spice if your feeding the average wife:) Very good with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I doubled the recipe without doubling the spices and it will still pretty HOT! I had to add extra broth and milk, so decided to add some whole wheat angel hair pasta (broken up), and it turned out pretty good. Not sure I would make it again, but it was interesting, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Lives up to it's name (SPIIICY!) I'll def. wanna make this more often, but twice the quantity. I added a dallop of sour cream to my bowl to calm my taste buds, and also garnished with parsley flakes. I subbed soy milk, and it was fine. This will clear your sinuses! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofedaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is very good. I love spicy food but I have to admit that this is just a tad bit spicy for me. I will make again but I will go easy on the spice. I didn't have any sesame oil but it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'm absolutely in love with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States