Spicy Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This soup was awesome! Wasn't sure if I would like it given some of the mixed reviews. I didn't have any cayenne so I sub'ed a jalepeno. It was def. spicy, but not over the top. I also doubled the recipe and was glad i did. Just as easy to make twice as much, and even then it wasn't a big batch. It all fit in the blender in one batch (I held the top tight to make sure it didn't splash.) I'm trying to cut back on dairy, next time I will sub soy milk and I think it would still be great. This one is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Mather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe, but it was way too spicy to enjoy it. I will definitely cut out the red pepper flakes and reduce the amount of cayenne. I also used chicken broth instead of vegie broth. Next time, I'll make a double batch, add more milk and cut back on the spices. What a great way to use up all those cucumbers from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Great flavor--but VERY spicy. I sprinkled the top with chopped green onions, and added a dollop of low-fat sour cream to try to temper the heat. Next time, I will cut the cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon, and the curry powder to 1 teaspoon...just to suit my own taste. A yummy and different type of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Who ever thought a cucumber dish could have you running for a glass of milk! VERY spicy, could easily halve the spices and still get a good kick from this. My father and I mixed this soup into some leftover white rice and this created an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
An excellent soup, totally defying the cliche "cool as a cucumber". This is one of the few recipes on here that I've ever cooked as is without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I love spicy food, but cut the curry and cayenne in half and skipped the red pepper entirely based on other reviews and it was still way too hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I thought the soup was really good and an interesting/different way to enjoy cucumbers, but...I'd cut the spices down a lot next time. I like spice a lot, but it was too much. I also added a splash of cilanto/grapeseed oil puree on top as a special touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
it was great, had no sesme oil and used paprika, thanks heaps had to go pick more cucumbers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This soup,hmmm,I don't know what to say,it's eatable. I left out the curry (didn't have any) and thank goodness! I thought I would go insane with heat in my mouth! it's way to hot to really taste the cucumbers. My mother did NOT like it at all,she just poured hers out and I will not serve this to my son. Cucumber soup is meant to be a cool soup not this spicy hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This soup was a hit! My kitchen smells delicious and I can't wait to try it again. What I did differently: - omitted the crushed red pepper flakes - used chicken broth instead of vegetable - used 4 smallish cucumbers - added 3 small potatoes What I plan to do differently next time: - half the cayenne pepper (at least) - puree half of the soup to a chunky consistency, and puree the other half to a creamier consistency I didn't believe the reviewers who said it was too spicy. We love spicy food so the only thing I omitted was the crushed red pepper, because we didn't have any on hand. It wasn't spicy enough to stop me from eating two bowls of it -- but I do think that next time I will at least halve the cayenne pepper. If it's still too spicy after that, I may cut back on the curry. I think the curry is part of what makes this so tasty though, so that's the last thing I'll consider cutting back. My husband didn't like the creamy consistency, so I'm going to try leaving half of the soup a little chunkier for him next time. My husband is not a soup lover, and we were both a little wary of cucumber soup -- but he really seemed to enjoy this soup so it's definitely going to be a keeper for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naha, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States