Spicy Cucumber Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
It was WAY too spicy, I adore spicy things but this had no taste other than the spices I couldn't taste any of the cucumber, which was unfortunate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessinicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It definitely was SPICY! I decreased the curry and after the soup was emulsified I added sour cream until blended. Rice was an awesome idea, but without that, it's a nice gluten-free, vegetarian (not vegan) offering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Doyle Rowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brownfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Way too spicy as written and i don't mind spicy foods. Take away most of the crushed red pepper and cayenne pepper called for and this might be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I cut the spices down to about 3/4 of amounts stated omitting the cayenne all together - I think it depends on the quality of the curry powder used. I didn't puree in food processor - just used the "boat motor" so there was still some texture. Other than that, this was a winner. Great way to get rid of all those summer garden cukes! I will be making this delicious soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is a very tasty and easy to make recipe. I did not seed the cucumbers, used a whole onion and increased the amount of spice...I like hot. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Amazing! After two years of lurking I finally joined the site, just to say how great this soup is. The texture is velvety, and the spiceyness was just right for me and my husband. Didn't have any parsley, and used chicken stock not veg stock, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Holy smokes is this spicy! I halved the cayenne and pepper flakes, and it was still super HOT! Will make again, but with 1/4 of the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I like the flavor of this recipe. I followed the portions except for halving the cayenne. I don't consider myself a wimp, I enjoy spicy food. This recipe is still just too spicy for me. I can't imagine trying to eat this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I was going to make a double batch and I'm really glad I didn't. This soup is way too hot!!! I would not make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States