Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Amazing! One of the best chicken dishes we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe! My fiance loved it as well. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken, so I just sauteed it in the paste from the blender, and transfered it all to a baking dish. I also had a hard time getting the sauce to thicken, so I added a little cornstarch, and cut the butter in half. It turned out great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This one is definitely a keeper! One of the best chicken dishes I've ever had. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but had to substitute a white/yellow chile for the red chile and had to bake the chicken longer than the 8 minutes the recipes calls for. My pieces of chicken were very thick. It was flavorful and moist, but not at all spicy. The sauce was amazing and the avocado, mango and cilantro on top made the dish complete. As we were eating dinner, my husband and I looked at each other and we knew this was a winner. I can't wait to cook this for a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACURLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was delicious! I marinated the chicken for a day to give it extra flavor, and instead of just using plain mango and avocado chunks, I combined them with the juice of one lime and some fresh cilantro and parsley to make more of a "salsa." The chicken was moist and flavorful, the salsa was amazing, and the citrus sauce complimented it perfectly. I served this with some frozen corn seasoned with butter, salt, pepper, and dried thyme leaves. My fiancee called this meal "crazy tasty", which is his highest honor! I'll be making this one again soon. The only thing I'll change is that I'll probably add more red pepper to the marinade next time, as this wasn't 'spicy' at all, but other than that, I'd say it was pretty perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I absolutely never cook with fresh chicken because it kind of grosses me out. But...my husband is Cuban and i was looking for a healthy recipe - and wow - this is absolutely great! I agreed with the other reviewer about adding lime juice and cilantro to the salsa - lovely, try it you will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
So so good. Served with mojitos rice and black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is possibly one of our favorite recipes, so easy to make and always impresses company. Try it with fresh tuna steaks too, super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I'm not an avocado fan so I didn't make the salsa, but I did make the chicken...This was so good! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and I did marinate them over night..The most moist chicken I have ever made! I would add a little more seasonings the next time, it was a bit bland for my family;s taste, but overall it was great. I'm giving it a 5 star even though I didn't make the entire recipe...Try this chicken it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is so flavorful. I love mangoes and avocados, so I was eager to try this, and I was not disappointed. I think cutting down on the butter on the orange sauce a bit doesn't hurt it if you are watching calorie intake. Still, the buttery-orange flavor is so good, it's hard to not make it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great taste. Next time I will slice the chicken and use in fajitias or soft shell tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States