Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I agree with the other reviewer who said the chicken didn't really have an amazing flavor. It was actually kind of bland, especially for a Cuban dish. And I marinated it overnight. Next time, I plan to use lime juice (instead of orange), more pepper, and a little more salt in the marinade next time. I also agree that the sauce had too much butter. It would have been a much better balance of flavors, and more savory, if the orange juice flavor came through a little more, but it was completely overpowered by the butter. I think half the butter would be about right. Overall, it was decent, and I did enjoy the avocado and mango made into a salsa with some lime juice added like others suggested. I am sure with the changes it will be a five star recipe. I paired it with black beans and coconut rice which complimented the flavors well, so if you are stuck for sides, those go well with this entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I was really happy about how this turned out. It was a little bit of work but not difficult. Not very spicy at all my little ones ate it no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This was good - no leftovers at my place. A few notes...this is not a spicy dish at all in my opinion. A baby could eat this. The Mango Avocado Salsa was the BEST part of this dish and I will make it again and add fresh jalapeno chopped - oh, for the record I did like other reviewers and actually made it a salsa with lime and cilantro. The sauce itself did not do much for me. If I make this again it will likely be without the sauce. I served with homemade black beans and some brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I cooked this last night for the first time...and i loved it...my husband who doesn't really eat fruit or anything ...he loved it also and he also ate all the mango and avocado ...will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
my husband LOVED this recipe! Said it was like being in Little Havana, in Miami!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was REALLY REALLY good. Not too difficult to make...just a little attention. Overall, this dish is a must have in your recipe box. I made this chicken with sides of black beans, brown rice, and fried plantains with sour cream. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I modified this by sauteing the chicken with the marinade in a skillet and used only 1 Tbsp butter for the sauce. I also served this with rice. So delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great taste. Next time I will slice the chicken and use in fajitias or soft shell tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is so flavorful. I love mangoes and avocados, so I was eager to try this, and I was not disappointed. I think cutting down on the butter on the orange sauce a bit doesn't hurt it if you are watching calorie intake. Still, the buttery-orange flavor is so good, it's hard to not make it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This one is definitely a keeper! One of the best chicken dishes I've ever had. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but had to substitute a white/yellow chile for the red chile and had to bake the chicken longer than the 8 minutes the recipes calls for. My pieces of chicken were very thick. It was flavorful and moist, but not at all spicy. The sauce was amazing and the avocado, mango and cilantro on top made the dish complete. As we were eating dinner, my husband and I looked at each other and we knew this was a winner. I can't wait to cook this for a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACURLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States