Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was really good. I had to make a few modifications because I couldn't find some ingredients, have some food intolerances and just don't like cilantro! I used dried red pepper flakes instead of a fresh red chile pepper. I omitted the soy sauce and butter. Since the sauce wasn't thickening, I added a bit of cornstarch. I also marinated the chicken overnight. This was soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Not that difficult to make and absolutely delicious! The leftovers of mango and avocado salsa make a great dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Delicious! I love that it's protein and fruit, all in one dish. Add some black beans, you've got a meal, with relatively little effort. I've made this several times, and find it much easier to us ground cumin instead of the cumin seed. Also, I leave out the butter. I'm sure it adds richness, but the sauce is so flavorful you really don't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Superb. I did chop the avocados and mango and added some chopped red pepper to make more of a salsa. Didn't have orange juice so I used Simply Lemonade, added Hot Mango Pick-a-Pepper sauce and honey for the sauce over the chicken. Mmm. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Awesome! Thank you so much for sharing. This is wonderful! I wasn't convinced the chicken would be cooked in that short a time, but it was perfect! and the flavors were amazing. I made it exactly as written (except I only had ground cumin, so I had to use that instead of the seed) and it was amazing. I served it with the Lime Cilantro rice on the AR website - they went great together! I wish I could give this more than 5 stars :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
My husband grilled chicken breasts for our guests & I had the salsa over grilled tofu... I served plantains, blk beans&rice, veggie empanadas, hawaiian rolls & sangria... everyone RAVED.... seriously raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Manana bread
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe that I got to try for the first time. Highlights: - Skinless thighs vs. skinless, boneless breasts (personal preference) - Followed advice of another reviewer and made the veggies accompanying this dish more like a salsa. - For those w/ dietary concerns I used Smart Balance Light instead of butter (5g total fat/serving and 90mg sodium/serving) balanced out w/ a lower sodium soy sauce (~470mg/serving vs. close to a 1000mg/serving w/ regular soy sauce) and was able to maintain the flavor quite well. Overall this is an excellent and delicious recipe if you have the time as the prep is a bit time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent chicken! I had to use pineapple juice instead of orange & hot pepper flakes instead of jalapeno. I was hoping to fix a restaurant-quality dinner for my husband tonight, and this was it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was delicious. The changes I made was to marinate overnight, use cumin powder (1 teaspoon) instead of cumin seeds and less butter (2 tablespoons). The sauce was ok. We had it with Mexican rice from this site also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Nonesuch
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Loved this recipe. Modifications: added; 1/3 c minced red onion and 1 papaya to salsa (used 1 whole mango, 1 whole avocado). Served this wiwth Lime-Cilantro Rice and my own homemade smashed black beans with bacon. All the guests raved and i am sold....will cook this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Nonesuch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States