Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Delicious! I love that it's protein and fruit, all in one dish. Add some black beans, you've got a meal, with relatively little effort. I've made this several times, and find it much easier to us ground cumin instead of the cumin seed. Also, I leave out the butter. I'm sure it adds richness, but the sauce is so flavorful you really don't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Superb. I did chop the avocados and mango and added some chopped red pepper to make more of a salsa. Didn't have orange juice so I used Simply Lemonade, added Hot Mango Pick-a-Pepper sauce and honey for the sauce over the chicken. Mmm. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Awesome! Thank you so much for sharing. This is wonderful! I wasn't convinced the chicken would be cooked in that short a time, but it was perfect! and the flavors were amazing. I made it exactly as written (except I only had ground cumin, so I had to use that instead of the seed) and it was amazing. I served it with the Lime Cilantro rice on the AR website - they went great together! I wish I could give this more than 5 stars :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
My husband grilled chicken breasts for our guests & I had the salsa over grilled tofu... I served plantains, blk beans&rice, veggie empanadas, hawaiian rolls & sangria... everyone RAVED.... seriously raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Manana bread
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe that I got to try for the first time. Highlights: - Skinless thighs vs. skinless, boneless breasts (personal preference) - Followed advice of another reviewer and made the veggies accompanying this dish more like a salsa. - For those w/ dietary concerns I used Smart Balance Light instead of butter (5g total fat/serving and 90mg sodium/serving) balanced out w/ a lower sodium soy sauce (~470mg/serving vs. close to a 1000mg/serving w/ regular soy sauce) and was able to maintain the flavor quite well. Overall this is an excellent and delicious recipe if you have the time as the prep is a bit time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent chicken! I had to use pineapple juice instead of orange & hot pepper flakes instead of jalapeno. I was hoping to fix a restaurant-quality dinner for my husband tonight, and this was it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was delicious. The changes I made was to marinate overnight, use cumin powder (1 teaspoon) instead of cumin seeds and less butter (2 tablespoons). The sauce was ok. We had it with Mexican rice from this site also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mendomermaid
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Loved this recipe. Modifications: added; 1/3 c minced red onion and 1 papaya to salsa (used 1 whole mango, 1 whole avocado). Served this wiwth Lime-Cilantro Rice and my own homemade smashed black beans with bacon. All the guests raved and i am sold....will cook this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was fantastic. I had to make a couple of alterations due to missing some ingredients. First, I bought a chili pepper but lost it between te store and home. I took a chance and used Sriracha hot sauce (what looked to be the amount of the missing pepper) and omitted the salt. Second, I used cumin powder instead of seeds (one teaspoon). Third, I used two teaspoons lime juice instead of the lime zest (I just didn't feel like zesting the lime). Fourth, I reduced the butter to 1 tablespoon. I poked holes in the chicken and marinated for 6 hours. It had a nice kick, not too spicy. I could have drank the sauce, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lulu
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Best recipe ever! Thanks for sharing. I read previous reviews and learned it's not really spicy. So I added chopped jalapeno & red pepper in the salsa as well as lemon juice as one person suggested and sprinkle with freshly chopped parsley. And while cooking the sauce, I added one chilli to boil just to add a bit of spicy flavour. It turned out great! My husband loved it and can't stop saying 'There are so many things happening in this dish!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States