Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I just made this last night and it was fantastic. I didn't have a red Chile pepper on hand, so I used three chipotles chiles in adobo sauce that I had on hand for the marinade. I also used about a teaspoon of margarine instead of the amount of butter called for, and while the sauce never really thickened it still had a great flavor. I can't wait to make this again, although I may decrease the sugary stuff a bit for the husband as he doesn't like sweet meats... Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutton Chop Begay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was great and I didn't even have time to marinate it! My grocery store didn't have red chile peppers so I used a serano instead (could have easily used 2). I also used ground cumin instead of roasting the seeds myself. Next time I will marinate it overnight and grill the chicken instead of browning and baking. Served with Black Beans, Corn, and Yellow Rice recipe from this site. So yummy and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The marinade is the best I have ever had for chicken. When it came to the mango and avocado, I actually made a salsa on the side: mango, avocado, red onion, cilantro, habanero, lime juice, salt and pepper, and then I put that on top of the chicken. With the sauce drizzled over the top, the flavor is endless. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Using this recipe as a base for grilling a 3 1/2 lb. chicken parted out, I doubled the marinade quantities using Seville orange juice in place of the regular orange and lemon juice mix called for. I made the salsa as shown but doubled. The chicken was tender, moist and spicy bright with its citrus/garlic/cumin/chile infused crust. It was the star of the dinner that included a vinaigrette dressed green salad, roasted sweet potatoes (dressed with a little of the salsa's orange reduction sauce), saffron brown rice, and berries over sorbet after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Used soy sauce but sweetened with brown sugar and cinnamon. Didn't have sweet soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
My husband's response; "You have my permission to make this every night of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Add sirachi if you want it spicier. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Liked it! Served over rice and it was tasty for sure! I didn't have orange juice and used a combination of honey and water for the orange juice in the sauce and squeezed some lemon juice for the citrusy taste. Turned out very well! A dish I would make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have used this recipe multiple times over the last couple of years. I truly feel like I'm sooooo lucky to have found it. The only things I have changed, I don't use butter at all, and a little fresh garlic in the sauce. Everyone that I have fed this to (including myself) has said that this is one of the best things they have ever eaten. Please do not underestimate the power of a little lime zest. It makes the sauce taste like candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
One of my favorites. So many flavors! I too leave out the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States