Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The marinade is the best I have ever had for chicken. When it came to the mango and avocado, I actually made a salsa on the side: mango, avocado, red onion, cilantro, habanero, lime juice, salt and pepper, and then I put that on top of the chicken. With the sauce drizzled over the top, the flavor is endless. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Using this recipe as a base for grilling a 3 1/2 lb. chicken parted out, I doubled the marinade quantities using Seville orange juice in place of the regular orange and lemon juice mix called for. I made the salsa as shown but doubled. The chicken was tender, moist and spicy bright with its citrus/garlic/cumin/chile infused crust. It was the star of the dinner that included a vinaigrette dressed green salad, roasted sweet potatoes (dressed with a little of the salsa's orange reduction sauce), saffron brown rice, and berries over sorbet after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Used soy sauce but sweetened with brown sugar and cinnamon. Didn't have sweet soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
My husband's response; "You have my permission to make this every night of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Add sirachi if you want it spicier. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Liked it! Served over rice and it was tasty for sure! I didn't have orange juice and used a combination of honey and water for the orange juice in the sauce and squeezed some lemon juice for the citrusy taste. Turned out very well! A dish I would make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have used this recipe multiple times over the last couple of years. I truly feel like I'm sooooo lucky to have found it. The only things I have changed, I don't use butter at all, and a little fresh garlic in the sauce. Everyone that I have fed this to (including myself) has said that this is one of the best things they have ever eaten. Please do not underestimate the power of a little lime zest. It makes the sauce taste like candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
One of my favorites. So many flavors! I too leave out the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was really good. I had to make a few modifications because I couldn't find some ingredients, have some food intolerances and just don't like cilantro! I used dried red pepper flakes instead of a fresh red chile pepper. I omitted the soy sauce and butter. Since the sauce wasn't thickening, I added a bit of cornstarch. I also marinated the chicken overnight. This was soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Not that difficult to make and absolutely delicious! The leftovers of mango and avocado salsa make a great dip for chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States