Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was delicious! I marinated the chicken for a day to give it extra flavor, and instead of just using plain mango and avocado chunks, I combined them with the juice of one lime and some fresh cilantro and parsley to make more of a "salsa." The chicken was moist and flavorful, the salsa was amazing, and the citrus sauce complimented it perfectly. I served this with some frozen corn seasoned with butter, salt, pepper, and dried thyme leaves. My fiancee called this meal "crazy tasty", which is his highest honor! I'll be making this one again soon. The only thing I'll change is that I'll probably add more red pepper to the marinade next time, as this wasn't 'spicy' at all, but other than that, I'd say it was pretty perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is by far my favorite recipe!!! I follow the recipe to the T (which is a rarity for me) and it comes out perfect every time. Serve with black beans and plantains fried in butter for more complete cuban resteraunt experience. Now I've just got to find a bomb yucca recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was fantastic. I had to make a couple of alterations due to missing some ingredients. First, I bought a chili pepper but lost it between te store and home. I took a chance and used Sriracha hot sauce (what looked to be the amount of the missing pepper) and omitted the salt. Second, I used cumin powder instead of seeds (one teaspoon). Third, I used two teaspoons lime juice instead of the lime zest (I just didn't feel like zesting the lime). Fourth, I reduced the butter to 1 tablespoon. I poked holes in the chicken and marinated for 6 hours. It had a nice kick, not too spicy. I could have drank the sauce, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was so yummy my vegetarian sister tried a bite and ended up eating half a breast herself she thought it was so yummy. I did have trouble thickening the sauce but used five alive instead of orange juice so this might have been the cause. Also used a green chillie instead of red. Did not find it spicy at all. Even my picky 4 year old liked it. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Superb. I did chop the avocados and mango and added some chopped red pepper to make more of a salsa. Didn't have orange juice so I used Simply Lemonade, added Hot Mango Pick-a-Pepper sauce and honey for the sauce over the chicken. Mmm. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The chicken was okay. I let it marinate for 24 hours and the chicken didn't have big flavor. I thought the sauce had way to much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
My husband grilled chicken breasts for our guests & I had the salsa over grilled tofu... I served plantains, blk beans&rice, veggie empanadas, hawaiian rolls & sangria... everyone RAVED.... seriously raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This one is definitely a keeper! One of the best chicken dishes I've ever had. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but had to substitute a white/yellow chile for the red chile and had to bake the chicken longer than the 8 minutes the recipes calls for. My pieces of chicken were very thick. It was flavorful and moist, but not at all spicy. The sauce was amazing and the avocado, mango and cilantro on top made the dish complete. As we were eating dinner, my husband and I looked at each other and we knew this was a winner. I can't wait to cook this for a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACURLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was good, even though I didn't have much time: I used powdered cumin instead of the seeds and only marinated the chicken for just over an hour. I grilled the chicken and basted it while cooking. I also used this recipe on a pork chop and that also turned out good. My husband doesn't care for mangoes, so I replaced them with nectarines on his and he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe! My fiance loved it as well. I didn't have time to marinate the chicken, so I just sauteed it in the paste from the blender, and transfered it all to a baking dish. I also had a hard time getting the sauce to thicken, so I added a little cornstarch, and cut the butter in half. It turned out great! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States