Spicy Cuban Mojo Chicken with Mango-Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This one is definitely a keeper! One of the best chicken dishes I've ever had. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but had to substitute a white/yellow chile for the red chile and had to bake the chicken longer than the 8 minutes the recipes calls for. My pieces of chicken were very thick. It was flavorful and moist, but not at all spicy. The sauce was amazing and the avocado, mango and cilantro on top made the dish complete. As we were eating dinner, my husband and I looked at each other and we knew this was a winner. I can't wait to cook this for a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACURLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I'm not an avocado fan so I didn't make the salsa, but I did make the chicken...This was so good! I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and I did marinate them over night..The most moist chicken I have ever made! I would add a little more seasonings the next time, it was a bit bland for my family;s taste, but overall it was great. I'm giving it a 5 star even though I didn't make the entire recipe...Try this chicken it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is possibly one of our favorite recipes, so easy to make and always impresses company. Try it with fresh tuna steaks too, super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My husband and I thought this was an ok to good dish, and the sauce was great. We found the cold salsa to be a little weird with the hot chicken, so I might heat up the fruit a little next time. My dad on the other hand thought it was spectacular. He raved about it all night. I made this with coconut-mango rice, which went well, but made the whole thing very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was good, even though I didn't have much time: I used powdered cumin instead of the seeds and only marinated the chicken for just over an hour. I grilled the chicken and basted it while cooking. I also used this recipe on a pork chop and that also turned out good. My husband doesn't care for mangoes, so I replaced them with nectarines on his and he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This TOTALLY rocked! We loved it. Didn't have a red chili pepper, so used red pepper flakes, and omitted the butter from the sauce. Is a great summer meal for the grill. That marinade is awesome. We added extra pressed garlic and just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is by far my favorite recipe!!! I follow the recipe to the T (which is a rarity for me) and it comes out perfect every time. Serve with black beans and plantains fried in butter for more complete cuban resteraunt experience. Now I've just got to find a bomb yucca recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I loved this. I made it as described. Just make sure your audience likes mangoes and avocadosMy husband isn't a big fan but really liked the chicken and sauce over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Chicken O.K., salsa very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This dish was excellent. I served it with yuca con mojo and it was the perfect compliment. I plan to make this dish in a few weeks when I cook for my future in-laws!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States