Spicy Creamy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Loved it! It was hot and spicy but the mascarpone gave it a wonderful creamy feel. I added hot Italian sausage and used crushed red pepper instead of the chile pepper. The left over sauce is in the freezer and I can't wait to have it again. The recipe is easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thepriceoftomatoes
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is a gorgeous fra diavolo variant - I built a pasta dish with shrimp and used this sauce to top it. I experimented with the amount of mascarpone - it dissolves and blends into a rich, silky/creamy part of the sauce. Huzzah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This recipe needs more attention. It is excellent. And I imagine it is good as is, but I made the following changes: > I first sautéed four italian sausages and two very thinly sliced chicken breasts. Once browned and cooked through, I removed them, added a bit more EVOO, and sautéed the onions and garlic in the EVOO and meat fat. > I added two bay leaves along with the diced tomatoes and other ingredients; I also shredded the chicken and sliced the sausage and threw them in with the diced tomatoes to allow them to stew and soak up the sauce's flavor. > I also added a small can of tomato paste to make the sauce a bit thicker. I doubt the sauce needed all this, but with these additions this sauce was amazing. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is a very, very good recipe. I did substitute dried red pepper flakes (a pinch) and about a teaspoon of dried basil. Our whole family loves it. I make a double batch and freeze it in single serving size containers for our daughter who is a vegetarian. She can quickly heat it and have a vegetarian pasta meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My fiance and I loved this recipe! I used crushed red pepper flakes instead of fresh red chile pepper and added twice the amount because we love our food a little spicier. Also, I sadly cut the amount of onions by half thinking it'd be too onion-y, but should've just used the original amount in retrospect. I didn't have basil on hand, but the sauce came out just as tasty! I added Polska Kielbasa to the sauce, and it was very complementary with the textures and flavors of the sauce. This recipe is delicious with garlic bread or knots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Oh My Goodness! THAT is Delicious! That's the best tomato-based pasta sauce I have ever had (let alone created myself). I can't wait to share it with friends tonight (will let you know that they think). I too used Red Pepper flakes (2 tsp- cause that's what finally gave it a little bit of a kick). I didn't have the Marscapone cheese, so I used this as a substitute (make in proportion to the 2/3 cup called for... I loosedly made 1/2 of the following: 8 oz cream cheese + 1/4 c heavy cream+ 2 1/2 T. sour cream). Make this and your friends and family will RAVE about it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
What's not to love about tomatoes, basil, balsamic vinegar, and sinfully creamy mascarpone cheese? The spiciness knocks this sauce out of the park. I like to make this recipe when I need to use up some extra onions. Thanks ANGIBEAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe should be a prep time of 5 minutes and a cook time of 25 minutes (total time 30 min). A quick easy meal. I forgot to say add it to your favourite pasta (I use Penne)but any pasta would do. Top with fresh grated parmasan and extra fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I used 1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes instead of the red chile pepper, 1 tsp. dried basil instead of fresh, 1/4 cup mascarpone cheese instead of 2/3 cup, and I threw in a pound of cooked shrimp at the end -- delicious indeed! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was a very tasty pasta sauce! I didn't have any fresh red chili pepper, so I added 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes instead. It gave the sauce a nice kick! I topped penne with it, sprinkled fresh chopped italian parsley for a dash of color and grated fresh parmesan on top before serving. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States