Spicy Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe..I love the slight hint of jalapeno. I made one minor change to the recipe, added some cilantro and it added a little bit more flavor and color to the soup! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Mr. LTH really enjoyed this soup. I, too, enjoyed the flavor, but the texture was a bit off. There were strings and strings of asparagus that were less than appetizing. At the last minute, I realized I had light cream, not heavy, so I used that instead. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. This is definately worth giving a try (the jalaps provide a nice kick!). THANKS for the recipe, Scott M!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Made this before but somehow the recipe changed. No jalapeno or hot stuff added, just sautéed garlic with the onions and used an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe! I am the only one in the house so I cut in half and used half and half instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I fixed this soup for a family at church, doubled the recipe and didn't use the jalapino pepper because I wasn't sure if they really liked spicy food. I wish I had tripled it and the next time I will add the pepper but even without it, it was wonderful and I cannot wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Really enjoyed this recipe and so easy to prepare. Made the following changes: EVOO instead of butter. Added 2 cloves Garlic. Habanero instead of Jalapeno.. Ole'! Lowfat milk and cornstarch instead of heavy cream. Added asparagus tip in the end instead of pureeing them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added two cloves of garlic with the onion and skipped the dairy. Served with fresh sourdough bread. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great soup! Even my picky eaters loved it. I added a couple extra steps because I just can't bring myself to follow any recipe to the letter. First of all, strain the asparagus after blended. I use a French sieve, or chinois, to extract all the pulp. Then, I boiled the diced potatoes separately and added them after blending. Also added a cup of diced cooked chicken breast and made a meal of it. I doubled the portions so I would have a few servings left for lunch this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved it! Wasn't stringy at all, just need to blend it down really well. Added some garlic because I love it, but even with out it I'm sure it would taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Loved it! We added cooked asparagus for another layer of texture. Although it tastes wonderful, you can eat a bigger bowl with a little something to chew in there. We added a Sriracha for heat, as the jalapeno did not have any, but it indeed added a nice flavor. We added the cilantro as suggested in another comment and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States