Spicy Cream of Asparagus Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe! I am the only one in the house so I cut in half and used half and half instead of the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I fixed this soup for a family at church, doubled the recipe and didn't use the jalapino pepper because I wasn't sure if they really liked spicy food. I wish I had tripled it and the next time I will add the pepper but even without it, it was wonderful and I cannot wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Really enjoyed this recipe and so easy to prepare. Made the following changes: EVOO instead of butter. Added 2 cloves Garlic. Habanero instead of Jalapeno.. Ole'! Lowfat milk and cornstarch instead of heavy cream. Added asparagus tip in the end instead of pureeing them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I added two cloves of garlic with the onion and skipped the dairy. Served with fresh sourdough bread. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great soup! Even my picky eaters loved it. I added a couple extra steps because I just can't bring myself to follow any recipe to the letter. First of all, strain the asparagus after blended. I use a French sieve, or chinois, to extract all the pulp. Then, I boiled the diced potatoes separately and added them after blending. Also added a cup of diced cooked chicken breast and made a meal of it. I doubled the portions so I would have a few servings left for lunch this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Made this before but somehow the recipe changed. No jalapeno or hot stuff added, just sautéed garlic with the onions and used an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved it! Wasn't stringy at all, just need to blend it down really well. Added some garlic because I love it, but even with out it I'm sure it would taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Loved it! We added cooked asparagus for another layer of texture. Although it tastes wonderful, you can eat a bigger bowl with a little something to chew in there. We added a Sriracha for heat, as the jalapeno did not have any, but it indeed added a nice flavor. We added the cilantro as suggested in another comment and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I've already rated this recipe a 5***** but wanted to edit & couldn't figure ot how to do that ! I did not add the cream at all & the soup was delicious without it. So I may need to change the name !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
It was great. The jalapeno I used was pretty low on the scoville scale, so it wasn't spicy, but was still very very tasty. I made ahead of time, so didn't add cream until just prior to serving. Wife's bowl was cleaned with bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States