Spicy Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Wonderful, very tart cranberry chutney and much better than the plain canned version! Crystallized ginger was not available, but one teaspoon of ground ginger is a more than adequate substitute. This made enough to also fill a half pint jar and present to a friend who had invited us to dinner. It is great with ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is absolutely wonderful! Very light and refreshing. I did take the advice of other reviewers: used orange juice instead of water, extended the cooking time until the cranberries burst, didn't use the pepper flakes and cut the amount of crystalized ginger in half. I did, however, add some of the ginger syrup left over from making the crystalized ginger for a bit more kick. At the end of cooking, I also added some pomegranate seeds for a nice crunch. This went over so well on Thanksgiving, I had to make another batch the next day! Did I mention that it's fantastic over vanilla ice cream? Many, many thanks, Bea, for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
It had more kick to it(from the ginger) when it was warm from the stove. It was still good several days later after sitting in the frig, but wasn't so spicy. The other fruits kept it from being so tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
this is a wonderful recipe! It is not too sweet, but a great mix of spice, sweet and sour. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a wonderful combo of piquant/sweet. Didn't have crystalized ginger; used about a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and 2 TBl. of balsamic vinegar. Reminds me of Autumn Chutney from Harry & David. If there is any leftover chutney; I'll be combining it with whipping cream to use as a sauce for pork tenderloin or chicken breasts served over wild rice. This is a gourmet meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This is excellent. It is now our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Did not have crystallized ginger. I used ground ginger. I'm sure it would have made a difference. It still was a very nice recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
A Huge Hit. - Will surely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Left out the apricots and added about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Absolutely delicious. Much better than any other cranberry chutney/salad/etc. I've ever had. This will be a permanent addition to my holiday menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States